Crisp Pickled Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I make these green beans exactly as the recipe is written and they are great! We do alot of camping in the summer and I always take at least 2 jars with us. I am diabetic and cannot snack on the typical camping junk foods (chips, cookies, etc). On our last trip I brought them out of the cooler and offered them to our friends (I was using them in a bloodymary). They tried them and liked them. The next day at lunch the green beans were being used on hamburgers and hot dogs! They were a real hit with everyone! The one thing that we realized was that the garlic was really good too! This year I'm going to use this recipe to pickle some garlic by itself. Thank you for sharing this recipe jwattsett, it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddiesmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Easy to make (although a bit time consuming). These are GREAT to use up extra green beans from the garden - then eat them in salads all year long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This recipe has become one of our favorites, I use it constantly over the summer!!! The only change I've made was instead of the red pepper flakes, I drop 1 whole hot pepper into the jar w/ the garlic and dill sprig before I pack the beans. I also make extra on the vinegar solution as I tend to buy more beans than the recipe calls for... knowing we'll use them ;) I'm so glad to have found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
i love picked green beans but i was dissapointed with this recipe....maybe i did something wrong...who knows
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
These are great. My daughter can eat a whole jar at a time she loves them. Super easy to make as well!! I will make them again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Quick and easy recipe. I cut back a little on the salt. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Morgan, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
yep. there good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I made a dozen of jars of these yummy beans and have to make more because my friends and family can't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Wow, these are fantastic. Scaled by a third, and I wasn't sure how much dill to use (what is a "bunch"? I had several huge stalks I bought from a farmer's market) so I was a tad apprehensive. In the end I should have used a bit more. I used chunks of fresh cayenne peppers from my garden instead of the flakes, and added some celery seed (loved that!). I love that they are crunchy. Next time I think I'll use more garlic, and maybe a previous reviewer's suggestion of mustard seed and black peppercorns. Nummy Nummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
These are good but I found them a bit too salty. I used iodized sea salt rather than pickling salt so I'm guessing that's why. I also added ground cayenne as others suggested but they were not at all hot. I'll try fresh jalapenos next time. Will make again with 1/2 the salt called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KelliK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States