Crisp Anise Seed Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
This recipe is a must try for everyone who loves butter cookies :) -if your worried about putting the seeds in your cookies, u dont really notice them and they make the cookies taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
I was so pleasantly surprised how good these cookies are. They are easy to make and the anise seed is a wonderful addition. I do not like the flavor of licorice but my fiancee does so I made them for him, tastes nothing like licorice. Nice crunchy cookie with a buttery flavor. I will make these a lot, not just on hoildays! Do not try the dough.... they are better baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
Just wonderful. Easy to make, really teasty and very sweet. I try to make them with chopped almonds and gets even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapote, San Jose , Costa Rica
Living In: La Aurora, Heredia, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
My hubby likes Jingles cookies at Christmas time, I thought I'd like to find a recipe that would not have all the partially hydrogenated stuff in it. He likes these. I knew I wasn't very good at rolling stuff out. So I tried rolling them into balls and then rolling them in cinnamon sugar. Came out yummy. Even if you roll them in cinnamon sugar you don't need more than the 1/4 cup you make in the recipe. I think next time, the only thing I would try is rolling them into balls and flattening them slightly. Rolling them made 54 cookies. But that isn't necessary just something I might try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Excellent recipe. Easy to work with. Great taste. Nice crispy tecture. I did notice the seeds when I ate the cookies, but I did not find that objectionable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
The taste was right, but they were as hard as a rock. Not sure what I did wrong. Would like something a little more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Family members liked these more than I did. What I do like about it is that it calls for the seeds instead of extract, which mellowed the anise flavor, making it appropriate for everyday eating, with coffee or tea. The sugar-cinnamon topping definitely adds to the cookie, and gives it a nice crunch, but also removes somewhat from its buttery-ness. I also made a few with some nutmeg added to the topping and it was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
ok, nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I Loved theese. When your getting ready to bake them, put the Anise seeds on your board and run over them with your rolling pin a few times, it will release more of the licorice flavor. and then you can run a sharp knife through them to chop into fine pieces, texture is better that way. I shaped the cookies into the double S shape in the picture. you can glaze them or dust with powder suger too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I knew I would like these cookies but I was unsure of my son because of the licorice taste of anise seed but he loves them! Way too go. I will be making these more often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Fuselier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States