Cretons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
What a stroke of luck to find this recipe! I grew up on this and lost my mom's recipe for it. This was such a treat when eaten on plain white bread. This transplanted Franco-American from Maine says a very big THANK YOU NANS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
This is a fantastic recipe for cretons!! I had a flashback to my youth recently from when I went to Quebec for an exchange program and had cretons which was a staple with the family I stayed with. I found this recipe and have made it several times. For the person who rated it before me, you may have cooked it on too high a temperature and thus lost a lot of moisture. It should simmer for about an hour, I put my burner on low. After you add the bread crumbs you should whisk the mixture aggressively. I spread it on toasted slices of french baguette with plenty of mustard. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
I made this recipe for my husband, he is originally from Montreal, Canada, and Creton is one thing he misses terribly, he loved it. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briansgirl75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Bethel, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
We live in Australia, my husband is French Canadian. I made this for him and he loves it ! Today I am making it for the second time. We ate it on a sliced baguette, I just love it with french mustard. It's very easy to make. Thank you for bringing a bit of Quebec to my darling husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This turned out perfect! My husband is French-Canadian so we've had cretons a lot in the past. We can buy it here as well but this homemade version is going to be the new norm in our house! I would feel confident serving this to his Grandmother the next time we visit her in Quebec. I processed it for about 10 pulses in the food processor after it was all done just to break up the onions a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Excellent!! Excellent!!! The trick to this not being crumbly is to pack it into a very small dish - I got all into a little 1.5 cup casserole - took some effort! Then I covered in foil - placed my other 1.5 cup casserole on top with a 4-pound ball weight in it. Came out perfectly!! Also - I was doubtful - because the meat appeared to be cooked and liquid gone after 20 minutes - but I was patient - kept it on low for rest of the hour - stirring frequently - then added the bread crumbs...worth the wait!!! Fabulous flavor!! Oh - I didn't have fresh garlic - so I used a pinch of garlic powder. I also used grey sea salt instead of regular salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rox
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
My mother-in-law makes this every Christmas. Her recipe is slightly different. She uses twice the ground pork (2 lbs). She also uses 3-5 slices of white bread (without the crusts) that she mixes with water to make a paste..she uses the bread paste instead of breadcrumbs and milk. Mmmm...what a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Great recipe,reminds me of home, easy to make with ingredients that everyone has on hand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Thank you for this recipe, we are not french but my husbands neighbour was and use to make this and give him some and he LOVES it,the only thing i did different was to put it in the food processor so it was more like a spread... so i tried this and he said it was just as goos or better!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Cretons are not the most flavorful of recipes but I like to make them more yummy by using 2 cloves are garlic and adding Parsley and dry minced green onion when they are done cooking. I also let them simmer for another hour or 2. When done, I put them in my food processor and then let them set in the fridge over night. They are great in the morning with butter on toast, with mustard and toast or regular bread for lunch, or on French baguettes alone or with butter or mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States