Cretons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Pork being different from the way it was when I was growing up, I didn't expect this to be like the cretons I had as a child, and it wasn't. But that's not a bad thing either - there is so much less fat than in the past. The flavor was there -- I did adjust the spices and seasonings to taste (AFTER it was mostly cooked), but the general texture was not what I remember. So I took out my "boat motor" (immersible blender) and just whacked away until it was more of a paté. Then I packed it into a bowl. It still lacks most of the fat I remember as a child, but it does spread nicely on crackers. I'm going to try it tomorrow morning with a fried egg on toast, as recommended by several people. I've now shared this recipe with several friends on Facebook who haven't had it in years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Denis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamabaker
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Great. I have made Cretons many times, and have been eating it my entire life (both of my parents are French-Canadian). It has to be cooked on low though, so it wont burn and dry out. Do not constantly stir; you only need to stir a few times during cooking. I added more spice (a dash isnt enough for me) and added some cinnamon. (1 and 1/4 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp pepper, 1/2 tsp allspice, 1/2 tsp cloves, 1/4 tsp cinnamon.) Sometimes Cretons can be weak in flavor, season to preferred taste. I gave this recipe 5 stars because it is the perfect foundation. If yours is coming out "too crumbly" then you didnt do it right. If it becomes too dry, you can always add more milk. I have a kitchen aid mixer with the grinder attachment, and i ran it thru with the fine plate one time, just because i like it with a smoother texture. It is not necessary though, it should still spread just fine. Its awesome on Martin's potato bread with mustard. Yum! (If you have never had Cretons before, its eaten as a cold spread. Refrigerate first.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamabaker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This is just another variation of Cretons, which is a pretty basic recipe. I have an old French Canadian recipe, which is probably about 50 years old at least. Can't get the ingredients it calls for! I would not use milk, as it can burn. Or use 1/2 milk 1/2 water to reduce the risk if you feel the need to use milk. You do not need to constantly stir it, but make sure you cover it and cook over very low heat for about 2 hrs or until most of the liquid has been reduced. And stir once in awhile. Spice is according to taste. You can add more as it cooks or even after it's cooked. My mother used to mix in a bit of mayo to it prior to serving with thin slices of baguette for an appie. Made great sandwiches for the long drive back home. Very similar mixture/spices as Tourtiere (minus the potato!)Oh, and it freezes really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
My dad is from Maine and has been making this recipe for as long as I can remember. He called today and mentioned he'd lost the recipe. I told him I'd go on-line to Allrecipes.com and search for it. He didn't have much faith I'd find it. You should have heard how excited I was to tell him I'd found it!! Thanks Nans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I've never made this before, but it sounded like my kind of recipe, so I have no baseline. The meat had good flavor and texture. It was perfect on some baguette. Reminds me of the pate in Vietnamese Banh Mi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Great basic recipe ! I am from Quebec and this is very similar to an old family recipe... Please do not try to get a "spread" smooth as creamy peanut butter (this is the stuff you find in grocery stores out of Quebec and not the real texture...). You do not need to put the cooked mixture in a food processor at the end... it just takes the spirit out of it... . It should have some "grains" and the fat will make it stick together when you spread it. Make sure you do not use lean pork and you do not need to put butter or oil in it when you start. Let is simmer for an hour in a covered pot and stir from time to time. Good luck !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
My mom's family are French-Canadian transplants to New England so we love Cretons. This Cretons recipe is a great base-recipe. You can always increase the cloves and allspice for more flavor, I use at least 1/4 tsp of each, and about 3 medium cloves of crushed fresh garlic. For a more spreadable consistencey, after adding the bread crumbs I cook for about 20 min, let cool for about 10. I then transfer to the blender and blend it until the consistency is smooth but still a bit grainy. I then retun it to the pot and cook for another half hour. Pack it immediatly into a class crock or container to cool. I like to make a double or triple batch and freeze it in medium size containers so that I can use it later in meat pies. Cretons is best on crisp toast with plain yellow mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I am of Quebecois heritage, and this recipe is really quite good. A few things I might suggest...This is a very old recipe, and the quality of our meats have changed dramatically since these recipes originated.Our pork is way too lean to make this recipe accurately. In order to reach the proper texture, taste, consistency, I added 1/2 cup of lard (yes,lard)to the ingredients.Pork fat is imperative if you want cretons to taste/look anything like they should.We also ate our cretons with more spice than this recipe calls for. 1/2 tsp ground clove, 1/2 tsp allspice, 1/2 tsp cinnamon.Also make sure to add plenty of salt for seasoning..I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
This made my house smell soo delicious! I'm not sure if the texture is right (it is pretty crumbly) never having eaten it before, but it tastes great. My children were even saying how good it smelled. I should add that I left out the bread crumbs (by accident) and I added cinnamon to the start because a different recipe used it and I love cinnamon. I plan on making this again and think maybe the bread will give it a more spreadable consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This reminds my husband of his days going to school in upstate New York. He loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Callahan, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States