Crescent Pizza Pockets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Caroline
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I thought these were delicious and easy. Definitely a fun quick way to get a meal ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
When making these, I got a bit frustrated and thought they wouldn't turn out. I used Italian seasoned tomato paste instead of sauce (excellent idea), a little less pepperoni and added kalamata olives. I, like other reviewers, just folded them in half rather than diagonally but that worked just fine and didn't affect the taste, so no problems there. But, I couldn't have used any less of the other ingredients without making it almost empty and it was completely stuffed - I couldn't ge the sides sealed all the way and thought I'd have a gooey mess. But, the ingredients didn't ooze out and it stayed in a nice pocket. Flavor - it was ok, and I'd give it 3 stars for that. However, hubby loved them and for ease of preparation I'll give it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
My family really enjoyed this recipe, it was a bit time consuming, but it was worth the work because everyone loved them. I also added mushrooms, but you could add any pizza topping that you like! The kids thought they were better then Hot Pockets, so I guess that is a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
These were easy and tasty. A couple of people had suggested the italian seasoning, garlic powder, and parmesan cheese, and I took their advice. It was wonderful! I also substituted the pepperoni with cut up, cooked chicken breast. I cooked the chicken breast in a nonstick pan, and added the garlic and italian there as well. I cooked them for 13 mins instead of 15 as well. I will make these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I read the reviews and made sure not to overfill the crescent pockets. So what I ended up with was some crescent rolls with not much filling, so I served them with a side of some pizza sauce for dipping. I can see trying to use one triangle and making these into appetizers (yield 8), but they really don't taste much like pizza. I really like crescent rolls and these were OK, but I probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
The kids loved these & loved helping to make them. I didn't have pepperoni so I used hamburger mixed with the pizza sauce. The adults weren't as impressed but that didn't surprise me. It was a fun afternoon project with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I really like the idea but the dough is too soft to support the filling. Made as instructed there wasn't enough filling for me and too much bread. I filled the second one more but the dough is soft and doesn't support the ingredients well when you pick it up to eat. The dough browns well but doesn't crisp well. If you stay light as instructed on the filling these are good and easy enough for kids to make and have fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Photo by Gina
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
My children enjoyed them. I will note that I made them vegetarian & left out the meat. I replaced the meat with some veggies & fresh basil. I wouldn't really recommend these for adults because the crescent rolls seem too sweet for the savory filling. Also it was extremely messy to put together. It was a good test recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Yummy. I liked these. Quick pizza snack/dinner. I think next time though I would use the mini pepperoni's and mix them with the cheese and add some veggies. Olives, green peppers, mushrooms. There is a lot you could do with this. Kids loved them. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by Doug Matthews
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
It's a mini-calzone that needs MORE. We did tweak the recipe by dropping the pepperoni and we used 3 cheeses. The crescents still soaked up too much so there wasn't enough gooeyness when we bit in. I married into an italian family so this one was held to very high standards. I doubt very much that I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Flag Pizza

See how to make the world’s most patriotic pepperoni pizza.

Gluten Free Pizza Crust

Easier than most gluten-free recipes, and as tasty and crispy as any pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States