Crescent Pizza Pockets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Great little recipe! It's perfect for a quick lunch, dinner or snack. Kids just loves these and they're much better than the frozen stuff. I sometimes sneak in some mushrooms if I can to add some veggies. I used "Exquistie Pizza Sauce" from this site. My niece just loves these! I always give her some extra sauce on the side for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I doubled this recipe to get 8 pockets. I made my own homemade pizza sauce and I used reduced fat crescent rolls and turkey pepperoni. The boys thought this was a fabulous idea--handheld pizza rolls! This really can bend to whatever pizza you'd like to make, really. Next time, I'd like to try this with sausage. NOTE: If you don't like crescent rolls, I'm sure this would work in a sandwich maker using two pieces of bread and be just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
You can also stuff them with berries and berry pie filling and glaze with icing, serve them still warm topped with ice cream or whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I cant decide on what to give this. Its between four and five stars. First off, I could not fold them diagonally, so I just made them into squares. I used a spicy basil tomato spagetti sauce instead (yum) and mexican cheese (mixed). Make sure you pinch together the sides and the seam in the middle ON BOTH SIDES! Dont have a cookie sheet like me? Put into a casserole dish and cook for 10 minutes on one side, and then 5-10 on the other. You get a really nice crispy crust, with warm ingredients. Its a good cheap meal for kids as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
The cresents don't work well for this recipe, they fell apart entirely too easily. I'd use a pizza crust from pillsbury instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana B.ee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
i made them exactly as describe and thought the filling was too much - popped out of all 4 of them while cooking - next time i will try making them with the seamless dough instead of crescents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LO

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
The top two issues cooks seemed to have with this recipe are 1- The crescent dough opening at the seams and, 2- The dough being too sweet for a savory dish. To address those issues I decided to use the Pillsbury seamless dough AND I sprinkled garlic powder on the pockets before baking after brushing them with olive oil. I did use the parmesan cheese as well. I made 8 squares with the dough and had no issues whatsoever handling it. DO remember to prick the tops with a fork before baking to vent and therefore avoid the filling spilling on the baking sheet and ending up with a messy and empty pocket. I served this with marinara sauce to dip. Really yummy and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
It would be good if it wasn't for the crescent rolls. They are too sweet for the pizza sauce, but it was a neat idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Great snack or lunch idea for the kids. My 7 & 8 year olds helped me make these. We used a pizza cheese blend (mozzarella & cheddar), and also instead of pepperoni, we cut up some turkey sausages and fried them for about 2 minutes before filling the pockets. Also, we sprinkled the filling with a bit of Italian seasoning and garlic powder for extra flavor. Next time, i will add more filling to each pocket. I skimped on filling this time because i thought it would burst in oven, but it didn't and it ended up turning out great. We would give it 5 stars easily, but because we could not fold these rectangles diagonally and had to fold them into squares, we took one point out for technicality. Wish we could do 4.5 stars. After they were done cooking (about 10 minutes), we just cut diagonally with pizza cutter. 5 stars for taste, and will definitely cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsDelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Pretty good!!! 1 can of crescent rolls only makes 4 pizza pockets so if your feeding a crowd buy more...also don't skimp on the pizza sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Flag Pizza

See how to make the world’s most patriotic pepperoni pizza.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States