Crescent Mummy Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Great idea. These were made the night before I needed them, cooled on a wire rack so not to get soggy and heated great the next day. I patted dry the hot dogs, this way the dough sticks easily. Also froze the left overs and will heat as needed. Freezes great, reheats great. Thank you for the neat idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Cute! Used bun length hotdogs. For my taste, I should have used more dough (because of the size) but the kids prefer less bread so it was perfect for them. Cooked 80%, then popped back in with oven fries to reheat. Perfect. Omitted cheese but used some cheesedogs for variety. Found that if you stretch the dough and let it twist as you wrap, it turns out more bandage-like when it cooks. Leave a few ends sticking out to make it look raggedy - they brown up really cute this way. 20 dogs fed 6 10-12year olds and 2 adults with 3 for lunch the next day. (They would have been gone but they had to get out the door to trick-or-treat ASAP!) Reheats perfectly in oven, not micro. Oh! And I actually called Pilsbury. They say not to leave dough out unbaked (in fridge) more than 2 hours or it may not rise. Whew. I'm done now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prttimecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Photo by LOVEBREEZY
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
These were fun to make but very time consuming. I did add a little extra work as I cut hotdogs in half to make it more of a hors d’oeuvre. Then cut a “V”ish shaped notched near the cut end, on the top/face side to represent feet. This made it a little harder to wrap but for my event, it was worth it. The only problem I had was I must have cut the cloth (crescent roll strips) too narrow as some of them crumbled a little after they were put into the serving dish. I only put 2 mustard dots for eyes and skipped the mouth. It made them a little more scary but still cute. For a special occasion, I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVEBREEZY
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I took the advice of one of the raters, and I dried the dogs off with paper towels so the dough would stick better, my daughter loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Wrap some crispy bacon up in these with the cheese and hot dog and they are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
These are even better if you use the cornbread stick dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
We love these. I like to use "wurst" dogs--especially the cheddarwurst dogs. I like mine with sauteed onions and sauerkraut, my husband likes his covered in chili and the kids like to dip theirs in ketchup to make them all "bloody". GREAT for those last minute quick dinners after a long day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Kind of a pain to roll, but they were the crowd favorite at our halloween party. I didn't use the cheese. I will use this year round for the kids, thankfully saving the mummy technique for only once a year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
These were fun to make, but choose the hot dogs carefully.(I bought an expensive brand) Ours were so oily that when we were done eating we all felt gross and almost sick. Yuck. If I ever do these agian, it will be with Turky dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
These were cute but hard to wrap the dough. It got sticky and fell off a lot. My grandchildren loved them so that is what counts anyway. I used a toothpick dipped in mustard to make the face. It was perfect that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shoreview, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States