Crescent Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
HELPFUL TIP AND REASON I COULDN'T GIVE THEM 5 STARS: HEAT THE HOTDOG UP IN THE MICROWAVE FIRST before making these!! I mean, if eating uncooked hotdogs is your thing then it won't matter, but I'm definitely a cook first kind of person as is the rest of my family. :) I also cut the dogs in either HALF or thirds. If I have those link little appetizer sausages, I use those since they taste THE BEST! Cheese is definitely optional and if I do use it.. shredded is what I have on hand, and I pinch the ends so it doesn't come out. Most crescent tubes say cook at 350 if using a dark pan (cookie sheet), but I tend to cook mine at 325 (my oven cooks fast and from trial and error... I've realized this works). ...so it thoroughly cooks because my oven tends to cook crescents fast and I like it to be all golden ...not "brown" on the bottom and uncooked on top. I cook it 3/4 of the way then flip if they're golden on the bottom ...just until the other side is golden. Who wants burnt bottoms?! If they feel gooey.. you basically just cook for 2 more min until it's done (for those wondering how long) :) PERFECTION!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
My niece just loves these! They're always a favorite for kids - even kids off all ages as my husband has been known to sneak a few! I sometimes use the cheese filled hot dogs and always give plenty of ketchup and mustard for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I make these when I need a quick dinner and I'm low on time. I like to use CheddarWurst dogs, deli cheddar cheese instead of American cheese and I serve this with a broccoli salad. Always quick to disappear and excellent for hungry boys/husbands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
These bring out the kid in me!!! I love them! I do use white american cheese as that is my familiy's preference. I also HEAT my dogs up in the microwave as to help cook the inside of the crescent roll. They tend to come out doughy sometimes and the outside is already done....by heating them up it solves the 'gooey' problem. Carefullly add cheese AFTER heating your dog!!! Just a little tip for everyone....it works!! It's like heating pie filling before adding to an unbaked crust....it helps to cook the crust...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlyJean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Ozark, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
i used turkey dogs, 2% milk cheese, and reduced fat crescent rolls - also added turkey bacon - they were DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
These are the best. I've been eating these since I was a kid. I like using provolone though or anything other than processed cheese. They taste even better with a little sprinkle of garlic and chili powder on each and serve with baked beans!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I hate to admit we love these!! I have been making a version of these for 40 years. I usually use pepper jack cheese-don't care for American. Eating them cold the next day (if you have any left) is my son's favorite snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I love these. My mom use to make them fo rme when I was a kid only she'd do the little appitizer hot dogs and cut the triangles in half to make mini pigs in a blanket. yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Ile, Michigan, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
These are quick and easy to make and really good. I used Velveeta cheese and we all liked them, especially my son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBI215

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This is a perfect, quick, family friendly meal! I don't like the cheese, others in my family do. Either way they are so good! And so fast to make! Also- this is convenient. The ingredients keep well. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States