Crescent Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
These are good.I used to fix these for my son when he was little - some 20 years ago now - wow! We didn't eat them alot but hey, it's simple and the boy , man now, still eats his hot dogs with only a slice of cheese wraped around it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I make this quite often for a change of pace when having hot dogs. We call them pigs in a blanket, but they are very tastey. Last time I made them, they were gone in a heartbeat. Nice and easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Walton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Didn't care for the processed cheese otherwise they were very good. I used reduced fat hot dogs & reduced fat crescent dough and they turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I hate to admit we love these!! I have been making a version of these for 40 years. I usually use pepper jack cheese-don't care for American. Eating them cold the next day (if you have any left) is my son's favorite snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
These are quick and easy to make and really good. I used Velveeta cheese and we all liked them, especially my son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBI215

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
We have to have these at least once a week!!! They are awesome. I dont do the cheese, but will try it, not processed... but a slice of cheddar jack would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I love these. My mom use to make them fo rme when I was a kid only she'd do the little appitizer hot dogs and cut the triangles in half to make mini pigs in a blanket. yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Ile, Michigan, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I have been making these forever! So easy and yummy, they are great. After I put the cheese into the hot dogs I wrap a piece of bacon around the dogs and then wrap in the dough. Use thin bacon though because the thick slices won't cook completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahopac, New York, USA
Living In: Cape Canaveral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
i love making this recipe my bf loves this for bfast.. i make mini dogs tho... i use lil smokies and use a pizza cutter and cut ea crescent roll in half comes out great for a bite size snack or bfast... i love to dip in bbq sauce . i put in for 8 min instead of the 13 on the package
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Dimas, California, USA
Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
HELPFUL TIP AND REASON I COULDN'T GIVE THEM 5 STARS: HEAT THE HOTDOG UP IN THE MICROWAVE FIRST before making these!! I mean, if eating uncooked hotdogs is your thing then it won't matter, but I'm definitely a cook first kind of person as is the rest of my family. :) I also cut the dogs in either HALF or thirds. If I have those link little appetizer sausages, I use those since they taste THE BEST! Cheese is definitely optional and if I do use it.. shredded is what I have on hand, and I pinch the ends so it doesn't come out. Most crescent tubes say cook at 350 if using a dark pan (cookie sheet), but I tend to cook mine at 325 (my oven cooks fast and from trial and error... I've realized this works). ...so it thoroughly cooks because my oven tends to cook crescents fast and I like it to be all golden ...not "brown" on the bottom and uncooked on top. I cook it 3/4 of the way then flip if they're golden on the bottom ...just until the other side is golden. Who wants burnt bottoms?! If they feel gooey.. you basically just cook for 2 more min until it's done (for those wondering how long) :) PERFECTION!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States