Crescent Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2007
Very nice and very easy cookie to make. I had to add a little more water then mentioned. Next time I will make a double batch. This is the first time in my life that I baked and they turned out great. I used oil to make the dough easier to roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
There are certain foods that bring back wonderful childhood memories and these certainly do just that. My Austrian grandmother, "Oma", made these for us every Christmas. I have continued with the tradition and can't imagine a Christmas without them. The only change I make is that once the cookies are out of the oven, I dip them into granulated sugar as opposed to confectioners. Confectioners sugar tends to yellow and eventually disappears into the cookie. Try these, they're wonderful. Thanks Deana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Sherry
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
As eveyone mentions, I remember these from being a kid. They are my all time favorite. really don't know why I don't make them more often. I tried the powdered sugar and granular as suggested, they all turned out great. They don't last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
cookies turned out delicious, but not due to the recipe...dough was not the correct texture to roll, so I had to form them into crecents in my hand, also, a few inconsistencies ie:margerine vs butter. I always use butter, and they were yummy, just not a recipe for a novice baker to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CG
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I too found it hard to roll these into shape, so I just shaped them by hand. The kids had fun helping with this part. These are so delicious and will be making these at the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cameron, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This recipe was great! They disappeared really quickly... The only change I made was adding a few tablespoons more white sugar, but other than that this recipe is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Very good. I made some with pecans and substituted pecans for walnuts in the rest, and both were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSNEEDSCOOKINGHELP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
These turned out GREAT! I did substitute walnuts for pecans and I used 2 cups flour and 1 and a half cups nuts. I thought handling them would make them tough, but they are crisp and light and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Delicious, just like Nana's. I really roll them in powdered sugar at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States