Crescent Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
These turned out GREAT! I did substitute walnuts for pecans and I used 2 cups flour and 1 and a half cups nuts. I thought handling them would make them tough, but they are crisp and light and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Like others, I had hard time rolling them out so I just shaped them in my hands and instead of adding just one type of nuts, I added almonds and walnuts as well with a pinch of salt. My husband brought these to his office and they were all asking for more. His parents made a special request to me tonight: they are having a guest over and they'd like me to bake me these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CG
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I too found it hard to roll these into shape, so I just shaped them by hand. The kids had fun helping with this part. These are so delicious and will be making these at the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cameron, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This recipe was great! They disappeared really quickly... The only change I made was adding a few tablespoons more white sugar, but other than that this recipe is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sherry
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
As eveyone mentions, I remember these from being a kid. They are my all time favorite. really don't know why I don't make them more often. I tried the powdered sugar and granular as suggested, they all turned out great. They don't last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
Very nice and very easy cookie to make. I had to add a little more water then mentioned. Next time I will make a double batch. This is the first time in my life that I baked and they turned out great. I used oil to make the dough easier to roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
cookies turned out delicious, but not due to the recipe...dough was not the correct texture to roll, so I had to form them into crecents in my hand, also, a few inconsistencies ie:margerine vs butter. I always use butter, and they were yummy, just not a recipe for a novice baker to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
There are certain foods that bring back wonderful childhood memories and these certainly do just that. My Austrian grandmother, "Oma", made these for us every Christmas. I have continued with the tradition and can't imagine a Christmas without them. The only change I make is that once the cookies are out of the oven, I dip them into granulated sugar as opposed to confectioners. Confectioners sugar tends to yellow and eventually disappears into the cookie. Try these, they're wonderful. Thanks Deana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States