Crescent Cake Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Simply wonderful! I used a packaged almond flour to save time and agreed with other reviewers about using more almond extract (I used about 1/2 tsp). I also drizzled a little agave syrup over them once they cooled. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
These brought back Christmas memories of when I was 7yrs old and my grandma use to make these for the holiday. I am 43 now and this was a recipe I didn't think existed - but use to adore these. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSHELLZ2U

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I used about 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract. The mixture was a bit too crumbly for me to work with so I added a bit of water and that helped. I could not get the crescent shape so they looked a bit different and I did roll them in powdered sugar after baking and that not only gave a great taste but made them look better as well. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I gave these a five star but I added 3 tsp almond extract, 1/4 more powdered sugar to the dough before baking and 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, then after they baked I mixed powdered sugar/milk and drizzled it on top of the cookies. They would have been way to dry and bland without it! But now they are so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha Galan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houghton Lake, Michigan, USA
Photo by Karisma
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
This is perfect the way it is. I have made it several times. Sometimes I forget to add the extract other times I've put in as much as 2 tsp. I use frozen almonds. And pulse everything in my Cuisinart processor. I don't chill the dough and press it into form on cellophane. I use parchment paper to bake on and coat in powder sugar once baked. Family can't keep their paws off them! If you think they are too crumbly add a teaspoon or two of water or milk or an extra egg yolk. It might be a climate thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
These were very good. They are not super sweet. I used pecans instead of walnuts. I toasted the nuts first to give the cookies more flavor. I dusted them with powdered sugar after they came out of the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Isn't this the same recipe in Cunningham's book, back in the recipe section? Curious to know if you came across a different one, though. Tried the recipe for a full moon rite and everyone loved it! Even my finicky toddler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyTwilite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I added more extract than recommended and will add even more (1/2 ts) next time. Had some almond sliver left over from something else and they looked like a cup so I threw them in the food processor, ground them up then tossed int he rest of the ingredients. I added a Tablespoon of water to turn it into a workable dough. I really like the old world Christmas cookie flavor. Thank you for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I used pecans because that's what I had and vanilla flavoring but followed the rest of the ingredients. I rolled them in confectioner's sugar after cooking. My family really loved these! Great recipe and so easy. I didn't have to put them in the fridge either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRosenbaum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hope, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
A rather blah cookie. I wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Nowak

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States