Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
Excellent! I haven't had crepes like this since I was little. I added an additional 1/4 cup of milk though which thinned the batter out and made it easier to make thin crepes. I read the other reviews and it sounds like they may just have their pan too hot. Start off low with just enough butter to coat the pan well. The gradually increase the heat and again decrease if it starts to turn the butter brown quickly. Reapet the bit of butter on each crepe that is cooked. This helps it get it's outer edge crispness without being dry. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2000
Iv'e never had crepes before, but I really liked this recipe. One problem I had was that the first crepe used all the margarine and the skillet was too hot then to add more. Maybe butter works better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I liked this recipe, but I'd make a few changes... I like an eggier, softer, sweeter crepe. I'd add an extra egg or more milk to make it less tough; a tsp. of vanilla to give it a really good flavor; and I used about double the batch and a 1/2-3/4 cup for each batter. I like the big crepes! All in all, pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This is a very simple and easy recipe. I found the batter a little too thick so added some extra milk. They didn't have a strong taste which means this recipe works well for both sweet & savoury (I made savoury ones).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
nice and simple recipe! VANILLA IS A MUST! it makes them perfect! i like to spread them with nutella, YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rabat, Rabat-Salé-Zemmour-Zaer, Morocco
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2003
These are so tasty, I personally topping them with chicolate sauce. It is so easy and it is really worth it! You have to make sure that they are REALLY thin, or else they will end up being pancakes. Try not to tear the mini-pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Finally I can make a wonderful crepe! Thanks for the recipe. I was very happy not to have to set the batter in the fridge for 2 hours to two days as some other recipes call for. The crepe itself has a very nice texture and appearance and was very easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexgem7777

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
Simple, easy and tasty. Nice recipe. The only thing I did was reduce the amount of butter put into the pan. First crepe turned out horribly deformed (still tasty though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
I found that the batter was really too thick and I was not getting the type of crepes that I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
They didn't turn out very well for me. I tried making them because a teacher made them for me years ago, but I couldn't get them to be crisp (even when I accidently burnt one) and they were heavy tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Crepes

These crepes are light and delicious, and fillings can be sweet or savory.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States