Crepes with Spinach, Bacon and Mushroom Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
I thought this meal was spectacular, although I forgot the parsley, cut down on the butter, and omitted the bacon fat. I liked the sauce especially, it provided a satisfying amount of tartness to go with the creamy-spinach texture of the filling -- but I happen to like lemon flavor very much. However, my room-mate hates lemon so I served hers on the side, but even she thought it was great and added some to her crepes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I am giving this five, eventhough I did not follow exactely. I had never made crepes before, so I didn't realize what a delicious and lovely dish this was. The filling was excellent. I used a slightly different crepe recipe and did not use the sauce. I feel inspired to try some other crepe recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
My husband and I had this last night and it was fabulous! I had some doubts about the sauce on reading the recipe, but it was delicious. Just follow the directions exactly. The whole dish was light but filling at the same time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
nice very nice i pay a fortune to buy savory crepes at the local food court and this was better cause i knew exaclty what went into it. I didnt use lemon juice and it turned out just as good after reading reviews lost of people said it was to tart.i also used fresh spinach and not as much butter and oil.next time i will add onion. thanx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
Fantastic! I didn't know how this one would come out until we sat down to eat. My husband couldn't stop raving. I don't eat meat so I left out the bacon and it still had flavour - especially with the sauce. Next time I'll try it with onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
This was heavenly. It is Shrove Tuesday 2004 and I wanted to make something different for pancakes. We really enjoyed this and it was so easy to make. I struggled with the sauce. I only used half the lemon as suggested and it tasted just right. I may have heated it to long as it was a little curdled. Thanks Susan - we really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
This recipe was very good.I used Claire's Yummy Crepes recipe for the crepes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBC150

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
I really had never made crepes before so I wasn't too sure. Once I got myself organized and made the crepes I put this filling together in a flash. The sauce was of a technique I have stayed away from in the past, but decided to give it a try. It was great. I would perhaps use just a little less lemon juice the next time to cut the acidity. It was great.. "Ummmm.." said my husband, "This is a keeper!!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
Had another basic crepe recipe I have used over the years, but this one is much easier and BETTER! From now on, I will use it for ANY crepe recipe I make! The filling in this one was GREAT!! We thought the sauce a little too lemony, so will cut that in half next time I do this one. Also, I assembled the dish a little ahead, poured the sauce over and let it set in the refrigerator for an hour or so. Then baked it in a 350 degree oven until heated through. That worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
Very good! Like others, I used only half of the lemon juice suggested. Next time, I will add onions and maybe even a bit of roasted chicken. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODFAVOR8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States