Crepes with Spinach, Bacon and Mushroom Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I tweaked the ingredients a little but got rave reviews and thought I'd share. I omitted bacon but sauteed baby portabellas and onion, added spinach and lots of feta and some romano cheese (kept the flour/butter/milk base the same). I made the egg sauce, cutting lemon juice in half, and poured over the stuffed crepes in a casserole dish. I baked at 350 for about 15 min. There was a lot of egg sauce left over though so I would probably half it next time. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Alabama, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
Had another basic crepe recipe I have used over the years, but this one is much easier and BETTER! From now on, I will use it for ANY crepe recipe I make! The filling in this one was GREAT!! We thought the sauce a little too lemony, so will cut that in half next time I do this one. Also, I assembled the dish a little ahead, poured the sauce over and let it set in the refrigerator for an hour or so. Then baked it in a 350 degree oven until heated through. That worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2001
We love this recipe. We omit the bacon and go with lots of mushrooms and spinach. My husband always takes the leftovers for lunch and if I am lucky leaves enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
Overall this was good. The fillig was GREAT, however the pseudo hollandaise was far too lemony. I stilla te it, but it made me pucker. We had friends over and I still had enough left for me to have on french bread for breakfast. So I recomend half the lemon for the sauce. We also doubled teh basic crepes recipe to have dessert crepes to finish teh meal. This fed five adults and three children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheepy
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I didn't think this was amazing enough for the amount of dishes I had to dirty up in order to make it! It certainly looks pretty but the flavor isn't there for me. Thanks anyway:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
yummy recipe. I made mine with chicken instead of bacon. It turned out great. These instructions are a bit wacky though. I've made this twice now and to simplify things a bit I made the crepes in a cast iron pan then used the same pan to cook all the other ingrediants(chicken then added spinach, mushrooms then remove and add cheese, flour, milk etc. added back chicken/spin/mush) and a small pot for the hollandaise type sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colette
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
I made this for my mom on Mothers Day. She loved it. Since I did'nt want to open a brand new can of chicken broth I just added the water and then 1 chicken bulluion cube.And instead of bacon I used ground turkey meat. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
The sauce is a little weird. There is probably a better sauce for it. If the idea of a lemon sauce appeals to you, we recommend less lemon than called for. However, the crepes themselves were delicious. The filling is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
This recipe turned out great! I was skeptical of the lemon/egg sauce at first, but it really made the dish. Might have been a bit plain without it. Definately a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
Very good! Like others, I used only half of the lemon juice suggested. Next time, I will add onions and maybe even a bit of roasted chicken. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODFAVOR8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States