Crepes with Spinach, Bacon and Mushroom Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
i agree with the previous reviews - the lemon egg sauce was a bit too tart. other than this, it came alright
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
My husband thought this was really yummy! I will cut down on the lemon in the sauce next time but other than that it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This is a very nice recipe, if unspectacular. It made for a good lunch for the family, though I wouldn't serve it to dinner guests (falling as it does somewhere between a roast and a light veggie-based meal in terms of 'heavy-ness'). I added just under 1 tsp. of white pepper to the dish and it dramatically improved the flavor of the filling, giving it a subtle kick that complimented the smoothness of the mushroom flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
So good! I had never made crepes before, so I'm very excited to learn how easy it really is. The filling was scrumptious, but the reason I'm giving it four stars is that the hollandaise-like sauce is way too runny and way too lemony as is. I used 2 Tablespoons of fresh lemon juice. I also tried to get the egg sauce thicker, but it wouldn't thicken. I spooned a little bit over the crepes and baked them for 15 minutes at 350 as suggested by a few other reviewers, and that worked out well. Be warned - this does dirty up quite a few dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SundayGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Pretty tasty! I had a little trouble with the filling clumping up; I think I got the bechamel too thick before adding the spinach/bacon/mushrooms, and next time I'll add the cheese off heat, last. Definitely have the crepes ready to go before starting the filling. I also had to strain the sauce once I got it hot enough, to get the clumps of cooked egg out. I was pleasantly surprised by the taste of the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kadyelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Great recipe for a non dessert crepe. For the topping, we only used 1/4 cup of lemon juice so it wasn't as lemony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
The filling was okay but it simply doesn't belong inside of a crepe. As far as the lemon sauce is concerned, it overpowered the whole dish with its tartness. I would not make this recipe again, even with modifications it would still be an odd combination of flavors and textures resulting in an unpleasent dining experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
thought crepes would be hard but for my first try they came out great! husband loved them! had really good flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I think I got in a little over my culinary abilities with this recipe - and yet it still turned out AMAZING. The filling was the more involved part but it was worth the effort (and all of the dishes :) ). DELICIOUS! My husband was almost as impressed with it as I was! Great breakfast dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
One word...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States