Crepes with Spinach, Bacon and Mushroom Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
The only reason I'm giving this a four star is because I made several changes to this recipe. First of all I doubled the recipe (except for the spinach)and used a pound of bacon and a pound of breakfast sausage (use a little more or less to your taste). I added shredded colby jack cheese (about 1/2 cup) I didn't use any of the sauces called for in the recipe...I used 2 McCormic Original Country Gravy mixes made to package directions. Use enough to bind the ingredients together. Taste the ingredients, if it's not flavorful enough for you, by all means add a spice you like to it...that's what cooking is all about! I filled the crepes and put them in a baking dish. I poured the remainder of the sauce on the crepes and put them in the oven for about 20-30 minutes. My guests thought it was the best breakfast they ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIALAW

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I made this one evening for supper using the receipe as it is except I prepared a hollandaise mix from the store. It was very flavorful but a bit labor intensive for a weeknight. I took leftovers to work and it heated in the microwave very well. Just as good the next day! I will definately make this again and experiment with other fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Effingham, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheepy
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I didn't think this was amazing enough for the amount of dishes I had to dirty up in order to make it! It certainly looks pretty but the flavor isn't there for me. Thanks anyway:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I tweaked the ingredients a little but got rave reviews and thought I'd share. I omitted bacon but sauteed baby portabellas and onion, added spinach and lots of feta and some romano cheese (kept the flour/butter/milk base the same). I made the egg sauce, cutting lemon juice in half, and poured over the stuffed crepes in a casserole dish. I baked at 350 for about 15 min. There was a lot of egg sauce left over though so I would probably half it next time. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Alabama, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Really loved how this turned out-- except next time I'll cut down, substitute, or leave the bacon out all together. A little too greasy for my taste, but it has a lot of room for personalization. Great, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthy Stapleton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
Amazing!!!!!!! Soooo flavorful. Will make again for a delicious dinner (or brunch)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Hansson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
Overall this was good. The fillig was GREAT, however the pseudo hollandaise was far too lemony. I stilla te it, but it made me pucker. We had friends over and I still had enough left for me to have on french bread for breakfast. So I recomend half the lemon for the sauce. We also doubled teh basic crepes recipe to have dessert crepes to finish teh meal. This fed five adults and three children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
This recipe turned out great! I was skeptical of the lemon/egg sauce at first, but it really made the dish. Might have been a bit plain without it. Definately a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Good recipe, but not good enough to be worth the effort. Not impressed with the egg-lemon sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
The crepes and filling themselves I really enjoyed, but the sauce was so "lemony"! My husband ate one without the sauce, and then one with. After he ate the latter, he was sick and asked me never to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States