Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This recipe is just fine but as French woman and a professionel French Chef currently teaching culinary arts at a Community College I often have to distinguish between a crepe' and a pancake. The difference is in the application, to formalise this recipe to a real crepe, use 1 Whole Egg and 1 Egg Yolk, Non-fat (skim) milk and melted butter. A crepe should have a carmelly taste (oil prevents this) and try to use crepe pan very hot and cook the paper thin batter for one minute and flip for thirty seconds and keep war while doing the others.I should add that it is important to sift all flour, even when it states presifted for it has solidified in the package. This is best done by holding a fine mesh sieve at least twelve inches above the bowl to provide air. Always measure after sifting. To avoid mess, do this by placing a large bowl in a clean and dry sink. When this very basic procedure is followed to the letter, then all of the subsequent ingrediant additions will benefit. Baking, like cooking is an art form and when done with love and skill, then Heaven is within reach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1912 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
These are excellent! I added 2 tsp. vanilla and a pinch of cinnamon. I also put mixture in blender instead of whisking which helps. I used 2 sauces inside: Sauce A. 1 1/2 c. blueberries, 1 tb. cornstarch, and enough water to cover bottom of a pan. Bring to a boil, stirring until creates a nice blueberry sauce. Sauce B: 8 oz. cream cheese and gradually add fruit juice (i had leftover from a fruit salad I made but any juice would work) until comes to a desired sauce consistency. These 2 sauces combined on these crepes are delicious! My husband and daughter loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
915 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
All aunts, uncles, and cousins on husband side of family live in Paris. We visit often and I live on crepes for our entire visit. Our family has taught me how to spot the good crepe stands and this recipe reproduces a great crepe. One key is to make sure your batter is "runny" enough that you can move it around your pan before it sets up. If it's too thick you cant get a nice thin crepe. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
643 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Delicious and EASY! This recipe has been used in my family for generations so we've learned a couple of tricks. 1. I don't believe we've ever refrigerated. The batter's already cold from the milk so why bother? 2. Spray down the skillet with cooking oil lightly and drop just a tiny bit of butter in the center. When the butter begins to bubble, the skillet is hot enough to start making crepes. 3. If you have any issues with crepes sticking, just spray lightly again. Once you get going there's no need to add more oil to the skillet. 4. The thinner the better, so try to get them as thin as you can! 5. Flip it when it starts to look like the top is setting. this will keep it from burning. 6. The first crepe is always a mess up. That one should come off the skillet and immediately be eaten by you. 7. Make it your own. It's pretty hard to mess these up so experiment (vanilla, cinnamon, brown sugar, peanut butter, etc) and just add enough milk or flour to give it the right consistency. I've started using vanilla flavored, vitamin infused soy milk instead of milk and I eat them with berries to make it a little healthier since I consume these pretty frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
391 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMF443

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2001
One of the easiest, and best crepe recipes around! If you are pressed for time, use a whisk and bowl instead of a blender; substitute butter for the oil, and you are ready to cook in about 2-3 minutes. Normally though, try and let the flavour & consistancy develop by standing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
356 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
This is a good recipe for basic crepes which I have used often. For those times when I want a sweeter, dessert-type crepe, I substitute standard yellow cake mix for the flour, since it contains just the right amounts of sugar and vanilla flavoring. The result is a lovely, delicately-flavored dessert crepe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERMYROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
So delicious! I made these for dessert and didn't feel like refridgerating them for an hour so I just made them right away. A yummy addition is to buy a bag a frozen mixed berries, thaw a bowful out in the microwave for 50 seconds, and use a blender to beat with cool whip. Add a scoop of ice cream and it makes a great dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Very good crepes. I like them slightly sweet so I added 1 Tablespoon sugar and 1 teaspoon vanilla. I used butter flavored PAM cooking spray and about 1/4 cup for each crepe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Oops, I didn't chill for an hour but they still came out terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Super easy and not greasy! This recipe will replace the one I've been using for years and years. I used whole wheat pastry flour. We stuffed them with cottage cheese and fresh stawberries. A little powdered sugar never hurt either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieBalls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 597) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crepes

These crepes are light and delicious, and fillings can be sweet or savory.

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States