Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I learned to make crepes from my mother, who learned it from her mother. I have made crepes for my family for nearly 45 years and never had a recipe to follow. I use eggs, milk, vanilla, sugar and flour (unsifted). I make them in two different pans - cast iron skillet and a teflon coated skillet. Both come out perfect. My husband likes them with strawberries and whipped cream or just syrup. I prefer them with sugar syrup which is what my mother served. (2 cups sugar, 1 cup water - bring to a boil, stir until all sugar is dissolved.) It will keep forever in the refrigerator. I make a huge batch and freeze enough for 8-10 future breakfasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Levy Oldeen Roberge

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I'm sure this recipe makes a great savory crepe, but wanting something sweeter I made some adjustments. Having only one egg in the fridge, I halved the recipe. I used butter instead of oil for the batter, measuring out 1 1/2 tsp of melted butter (I didn't half that part of the recipe and it was the perfect amount!) Following the advice of another reviewer, I added 1/2 tbsp of sugar and a few drops of vanilla. I love a touch of nutmeg in my crepes, so I added a small pinch of that. I did use a blender and chilled in the fridge for about 45 minutes because I just couldn't wait. I heated my pan thoroughly before I started and used olive oil cooking spray for the pan. A 1/4 cup of batter per crepe worked great for 4 crepes, and each crepe took less than a minute to brown up just slightly on both sides. Super thin, just sweet enough, absolutely delicious. I used a small amount of strawberry preserves in each crepe and rolled them up, it was the perfect midnight snack! One day I'll make this recipe as is for a savory meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Delicious crepes! I was a bit skeptical about just tossing the ingredients together; I didn't want to have flour clumps in the crepes... These crepes were perfect, very easy to make, very thin, and no clumps! I didn't refrigerate them at all and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Wonderful & easy! I substituted a mixture of 1/2 quinoa flour & 1/2 all-purpose flour for the flour & hemp milk for the milk. My Magic Bullet blended it all up & voila! We made a platter of sauteed mushrooms, roasted red peppers, diced rotisserie chicken, caramelized onions, sauteed asparagus, and goat cheese, and let our guests stuff the crepes themselves!! It was a hit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Easy and fast! thanks for sharing!!! love'em! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
First time ever making crepes. Was very straightforward and they came out perfect. My 11yr old daughter loved these things. Made them as a wrap for a sausage egg and cheese breakfast. Great recipe that I will definitely use again! :) Thanks for sharing this recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ash ch (2762ash)

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
After I got the first crepe done I had to try it! The tantilizing aroma was bringing me back to a family home in France I spent some time in. I slowly poured strawberry sauce onto the cake and proceeded to carefully roll it, not wanting to lose any more of the sauce than was natural. I closed my eyes and brought the crepe to my lips, even at this point I was instantly transported to the small town in Normandy with the children laughing, glasses of port and the tiniest French woman teaching me the proper method of producing these versitile treats. The very essence of the french family was brought back to me in one bite. Thank you for the share, they are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatmaliscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Excellent crepes! Didn't change a thing. Our go to recipe at this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cavendish, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
These are execellent. When I make them for a dessert I add 1 tsp of vanilla and 1 Tbl of Sugar, also used melted butter instead of oil. They were awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 621) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Crepes

These crepes are light and delicious, and fillings can be sweet or savory.

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States