Creole Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Excellent, for the people that think it is bland ... Try some seasoned stewed tomatoes that will do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I followed recipe as is and the taste was not as good as traditional creole. It was quick and kids ate it but would not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I used one 14oz can of tomatoes and a 10 oz can of Rotel tomatoes for added kick. I used a yellow bell pepper, instead of green because I don't like green bell peppers. Decreased the amount of water to 1 cup, because 1 1/2 sounded too soupy. Added 1/2 tsp of spanish smoked paprika, because it's yummy. It turned out really nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lorabore
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This recipe was a first for me on a LOT of things. It was my first roux, my first creole/cajun dish, and my first time cooking shrimp. I followed the recipe for the most part, but since I didn't have any stewed tomatoes I used 1 can of diced canned tomatoes instead. And I had to swap cilantro for parsley, since I grabbed the wrong thing at the store I read the other reviews about it being too watery and bland, and was worried since my canned tomatoes also had added liquid. So, instead of water I used hot V8 juice, and I only used about 1 cup. As far as flavor, I definitely agree with other posts that some sort of hot spice/sauce is needed. I used cayenne and chili powder, but I think red pepper flakes, tabasco, or even a diced jalepeno would work. Without that, I think it would have been too bland. The best part of this recipe though, is that it was pretty basic and easy (even for a first-timer), and even my shrimp-hating husband ate it and said he would eat it again. So, anything that gets Mr. picky to eat shrimp is a plus in my book. I served it over lightly salted bulgur wheat. Rice, pasta, quinoa, potatoes would all work great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This is my go-to favorite! I have tried other creole recipes and NOTHING stands up to this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
WOW kudos to Gina! its soo easy and fun to play I too substituted olive oil for the bacon fat and the red/yellow/orange peppers for the green ones but only because i like color :) I think it tastes amazing and was fun to try while our littles ones are with the g-ma :) I'm definitely saving this one for date nights :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Made this exactly as written and too bland for us. We just ate the shrimp out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This recipe was absolutely great. The first time I made it with shrimp and the second time with some chicken strips. Both times it was delicious! I did use a can of diced tomatoes and another time I used chili ready tomatoes. It was delicious! This will be a regular meal. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Awesome! Had never taken time to make a real roux before and I think that made all the difference in giving it a rich flavor. Made modifications due to what I had and other reviews: used one can stewed and one can diced tomatoes, roasted red pepper in water in place of green, 2 heaping tsp. of jar minced garlic, a few shakes of Tabasco, a few shakes of red pepper flakes, and only 1/2 cup of water. Forgot the parsley. Served it over a brown/wild rice mix and it was fantastic! I discovered that while shrimp is frozen the tail shells pull right off. Will be a regular meal for us. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I had to cook bacon just to render the grease and since I doubled the recipe I still didn't end up with enough so i used half olive oil. I also used only 2 cups of water because thats all I could fit in the saucepan and after reading reviews about it being watery I'm glad I did. The sauce was very tasty but we would have liked for it to be a bit more spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjorie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States