Creole Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Awesome! Had never taken time to make a real roux before and I think that made all the difference in giving it a rich flavor. Made modifications due to what I had and other reviews: used one can stewed and one can diced tomatoes, roasted red pepper in water in place of green, 2 heaping tsp. of jar minced garlic, a few shakes of Tabasco, a few shakes of red pepper flakes, and only 1/2 cup of water. Forgot the parsley. Served it over a brown/wild rice mix and it was fantastic! I discovered that while shrimp is frozen the tail shells pull right off. Will be a regular meal for us. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I had to cook bacon just to render the grease and since I doubled the recipe I still didn't end up with enough so i used half olive oil. I also used only 2 cups of water because thats all I could fit in the saucepan and after reading reviews about it being watery I'm glad I did. The sauce was very tasty but we would have liked for it to be a bit more spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjorie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I honestly think I hyped myself up when I planned on cooking and dining on this recipe. Looking at the ingredients I was anticipating a more savory, sweet flavor and I just very let down after my first plate. Nothing special is all I can say. I do agree with most of these reviews, The recipe is extremely "saucey." I do love shrimp, but I more than likely won't choose to use the recipe again. Actually...I'm going to delete it from my recipe box right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
I have made this recipe quite a few times and it always turns out great. I add Old Bay seasoning for more taste and everyone always enjoys it and asks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
I have to agree with Dreginek on this one. I didn't even rescale it as it was just for my wife and myself. We both agree with the observation that there is way too much liquid. Maybe draining some off the tomatoes would have helped, but we don't think so. We also thought it was too bland. This may have also been due to the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shirley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
This is an real creole recipe, very similar to the one I've used with success for years. The bacon fat cooked into the flour makes a 'roux', olive oil doesn't make a roux. I have a jar of browned flour (la farine brulee) that I use with fat for making roux. I know, I'm being picky - it would be just dandy make with olive oil. I would hot it up for my family but everyone's taste buds are different and you can add, not subtract. A bottle of hot sauce or dried hot peppers can always be on the table for those would wish it spicier. Thanks for sharing this fine recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
My husband just said "this is one of your bests". I followed someone elses advice and cooked the peppers (yellow and red-we don't like green), onions and garlic in olive oil and butter first, then I added some bacon fat. I added a little red pepper flakes (4 shakes). I doubled the recipe and served it over brown rice. Next time I will add extra shrimp. Happily we have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
My husband liked this dish but agreed with me that it needed a bit more spice. It is very quick & easy, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
It was great not to "pare down" a recipe so it would serve two people. I used olive oil instead of bacon fat and it was good. I will spice it up a bit next time just because we enjoy spicier. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I used to make this recipe myself but without the green bell pepper, but I think adding it would make it perfect. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States