Creole Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I cheat a little on this one by using Trader Joe's roasted garlic marinara sauce instead of the stewed tomatoes and sauce. Also, TJ's precooked bacon. But you have to take the time to make the roux! I throw the onion, garlic, red peppers, and parsley in my little chopper. Even minced up some little carrots and sun dried tomatoes in olive oil. Threw in some sliced mushrooms too. I don't add water. Maybe just a little wine or broth. Fabulous, rich sauce! For a special dinner, you can't beat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Merryfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Delicious. My family really enjoyed this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Loved the recipe. I added celery and cayenne pepper. Also put over brown rice cooked in chicken broth. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Peavy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Excellent, for the people that think it is bland ... Try some seasoned stewed tomatoes that will do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I followed recipe as is and the taste was not as good as traditional creole. It was quick and kids ate it but would not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I used one 14oz can of tomatoes and a 10 oz can of Rotel tomatoes for added kick. I used a yellow bell pepper, instead of green because I don't like green bell peppers. Decreased the amount of water to 1 cup, because 1 1/2 sounded too soupy. Added 1/2 tsp of spanish smoked paprika, because it's yummy. It turned out really nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clark Chesser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lorabore
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This recipe was a first for me on a LOT of things. It was my first roux, my first creole/cajun dish, and my first time cooking shrimp. I followed the recipe for the most part, but since I didn't have any stewed tomatoes I used 1 can of diced canned tomatoes instead. And I had to swap cilantro for parsley, since I grabbed the wrong thing at the store I read the other reviews about it being too watery and bland, and was worried since my canned tomatoes also had added liquid. So, instead of water I used hot V8 juice, and I only used about 1 cup. As far as flavor, I definitely agree with other posts that some sort of hot spice/sauce is needed. I used cayenne and chili powder, but I think red pepper flakes, tabasco, or even a diced jalepeno would work. Without that, I think it would have been too bland. The best part of this recipe though, is that it was pretty basic and easy (even for a first-timer), and even my shrimp-hating husband ate it and said he would eat it again. So, anything that gets Mr. picky to eat shrimp is a plus in my book. I served it over lightly salted bulgur wheat. Rice, pasta, quinoa, potatoes would all work great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This is my go-to favorite! I have tried other creole recipes and NOTHING stands up to this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
WOW kudos to Gina! its soo easy and fun to play I too substituted olive oil for the bacon fat and the red/yellow/orange peppers for the green ones but only because i like color :) I think it tastes amazing and was fun to try while our littles ones are with the g-ma :) I'm definitely saving this one for date nights :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Made this exactly as written and too bland for us. We just ate the shrimp out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States