Creole Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
First, I want to say that this is as good (or better) than any red beans & rice that I've ever had. However, there were some red flags when I read the recipe, and although I don't like doing this the first time making a recipe, I did make some modifications. First, the beans are soaked overnight, so 3 qts of water is WAY too much. I used 2 qts, checked the beans at 1-1/2 hrs., and they were done (not four hours). Even with 2 qts of water, it still took close to two more hours to cook down the liquid to a serving consistency. The creole seasoning that I use is Tony Chachere's, and in looking at the ingredient listing, the first item was salt. IMO, you don't need 2 tbsp of salt. In fact, I didn't think it needed any and added no salt significantly reducing the sodium content. Creole seasoning is spicy, so again, I questioned 2 tbsp of pepper, and only added one. You can always add more if needed, but you can't take it out, so I wasn't going to risk messing up the entire dish. Please do NOT skip the creole seasoning, because I think it's the magic of this recipe. I also was concerned about four stalks of celery, so used three. I used Johnsonville Chicken Hardwood Smoked Sausage which worked perfectly and saved some fat and calories. Don't mean to be critical of this recipe because with these changes, this was five stars for us, but as written, only can give it four. I'll be interested to see what other reviewers have to say. Thanks Paige for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
My husband and I enjoyed this recipe very much! It has a great flavor and a nice kick to it. The only thing different I did was cook it in a crockpot but I think next time I'll use half the salt and pepper it calls for. Definetly satisfied my taste buds though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Kain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Juicy, flavorful, and very yummy. It was a big hit at my party! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ionathas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Great recipe! after a recent trip to NOLA, i was craving some good cajun tastes and this hit the spot! since i have a pressure cooker, i just added all the ingredients (minus the sausage), cooked them for 45 minutes, let it cool, added the sausage, then simmered. Too easy! Great left over as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
DO NOT add salt - creole seasoning is salty. Especially not 2 tbsp. And honestly, if you like really spicy food, 1 tbsp of black pepper is more than enough (everyone else, stick to a tsp). I make a vegetarian version - take out the sausage and add 1 teaspoon of hickory liquid smoke. I also find that after a full night's soak, I only really need about 2 quarts & 1 cup of water. I like to "mash" some of the beans to help it thicken (2 quick up and down motions with a potato masher in the pan about 30 minutes before you eat, then stir, turn the heat off and let it sit on the stove). So a fair number of modifications, but this recipe got me started on making red beans from scratch and the way I make it now, I LOVE it. I'd give it 5 stars if the salt and black pepper weren't so far off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Wish I had read the reviews before making this. The alarm bells should have been blasting in my head with the amount of salt called for. I have never used Creole seasoning before and didn't realize that the main ingredient in it is salt. A bit spicier than I had hoped but I figure the hubby will still eat. Oh well....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Really really good! I did as another suggested though and cut the pepper by half and omitted the salt as the 1st ingredient in my creole seasoning was salt. I also used only 2.5 quarts water since it seemed like a lot of water. Next time I will use 2 quarts only. I used turkey smokd sausage which came in a 13 oz package so next time I will double the sausage as there really wasn't much. This was so easy and tasty! Hubs loved it and went back for 2nds which is rare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
We loved these beans, they were delicious!! I only used half the salt and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Brilliant!! Like others=no added salt and 2 quarts (8 cups) H2o, plus I used half lb turkey kielbasa, half lb andouille sausage and cooked it low and slow most the day, 6+hours. This is a WINNER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by benbauer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Good recipe. I agree with those suggesting cut back on the water, salt and pepper. Especially if you are using Andouille sausage, which is pretty much the way to go. Of course you can make it with any kind of sausage you want, but if you do you are no longer making Creole Red Beans and Rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hiyadave

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States