Creole Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
First, I want to say that this is as good (or better) than any red beans & rice that I've ever had. However, there were some red flags when I read the recipe, and although I don't like doing this the first time making a recipe, I did make some modifications. First, the beans are soaked overnight, so 3 qts of water is WAY too much. I used 2 qts, checked the beans at 1-1/2 hrs., and they were done (not four hours). Even with 2 qts of water, it still took close to two more hours to cook down the liquid to a serving consistency. The creole seasoning that I use is Tony Chachere's, and in looking at the ingredient listing, the first item was salt. IMO, you don't need 2 tbsp of salt. In fact, I didn't think it needed any and added no salt significantly reducing the sodium content. Creole seasoning is spicy, so again, I questioned 2 tbsp of pepper, and only added one. You can always add more if needed, but you can't take it out, so I wasn't going to risk messing up the entire dish. Please do NOT skip the creole seasoning, because I think it's the magic of this recipe. I also was concerned about four stalks of celery, so used three. I used Johnsonville Chicken Hardwood Smoked Sausage which worked perfectly and saved some fat and calories. Don't mean to be critical of this recipe because with these changes, this was five stars for us, but as written, only can give it four. I'll be interested to see what other reviewers have to say. Thanks Paige for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
My husband and I enjoyed this recipe very much! It has a great flavor and a nice kick to it. The only thing different I did was cook it in a crockpot but I think next time I'll use half the salt and pepper it calls for. Definetly satisfied my taste buds though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Kain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
We loved these beans, they were delicious!! I only used half the salt and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Great recipe! after a recent trip to NOLA, i was craving some good cajun tastes and this hit the spot! since i have a pressure cooker, i just added all the ingredients (minus the sausage), cooked them for 45 minutes, let it cool, added the sausage, then simmered. Too easy! Great left over as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Really really good! I did as another suggested though and cut the pepper by half and omitted the salt as the 1st ingredient in my creole seasoning was salt. I also used only 2.5 quarts water since it seemed like a lot of water. Next time I will use 2 quarts only. I used turkey smokd sausage which came in a 13 oz package so next time I will double the sausage as there really wasn't much. This was so easy and tasty! Hubs loved it and went back for 2nds which is rare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Wow, this was good! I have to say I did alter it a bit, just because I have to feed small children who don't deal well with spice. I used 1 1/2 tbsp of salt, 1 tbsp of pepper and 1 1/2 tbsp of creole seasoning. It was still very warm. I also cut down the water a bit, cause it was a bit runny for me. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Juicy, flavorful, and very yummy. It was a big hit at my party! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ionathas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Very good except for the salt. I put in less than half required, and now I'm trying to soak up the salt with potatoes this morning! Too much salt! Also, I soaked the beans for two days, and then had to cook them on low in the crock pot overnight in order for the beans to soften up. 4 hours on low was not enough time for these beans. But overall great flavor in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Great recipe! Definitely leave out the salt, half the pepper, and reduce the water to 8 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This recipe is so easy to make and my hubby loves it! Thank You so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States