Creole Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I will cook this again, but will not cook it as long next time. We like our beans a lot firmer. I cut way back on the pepper and salt, which was a wise thing to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This is a very good recipe! I cut back on the salt and pepper and "fiddled" with it a little. I simmered three smoked ham hocks and used the water from those, then used the meat later. For a little extra zing I threw in a can of Rotel tomatoes and habaneros. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Did anyone use canned beans?? I didnt have time to use dry....just wondered if someone has ever done it this way. I am trying mine with fried in butter and seasonings chicken. We will see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
We Just love this recipe! We served it with grilled kickin' chicken and everyone wants this recipe!Even the picky eaters! Did leave out the extra salt, tho! Thanks Paige!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen T.

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharB26350

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I used this recipe the first time I ever made red beans and rice, the family loved it. We just made one substitution, instead of using smoked sausage we used ground sausage and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
this recipe has become a staple at our house. It is so very good and even the kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I used a whole bag of dried beans, soaked overnight, and 2qts (8cups) water. I used vegetable base for that amt of water and used a recipe for creole seasoning I found on this site (except that I did not add salt and pepper, just the white pepper) Salt and Pepper I just ground some in, the same amount I put in all my cooking. So no extra salt and the amount of creole was just right (total about 2tbsp of spices) I used a smithfield smoked sausage, but next time I might use 2 diff kinds like another reviewer. It's still very watery, took about 2 hours to cook. Must remember to give it a few blasts with the immersion blender to try to thicken. The liquid looked like dirty dishwater but a slotted spoon helped. I love it, cheap and easy and open to lots of experimentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I wish I had read the reviews before making this. Way too much liquid. As well, as I couldn't find Creole spice so I used Cajun spice and felt that it could have used more flavor. Otherwise it was a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This was really GOOD! Even the boyfriend said multiple times how yummy it was,which is unusual. Read the reviews thoroughly, used chicken stock instead of plain water, no salt just creole seasoning. It did only take 2 hours,not four but our beans weren't very old either. Will definitely make again, especially when the budget is tight. I think I spent $8 on all the ingredients,and will get at least 6 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LVNNSTYL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bluff, Utah, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States