Creole Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharB26350

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I used this recipe the first time I ever made red beans and rice, the family loved it. We just made one substitution, instead of using smoked sausage we used ground sausage and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
this recipe has become a staple at our house. It is so very good and even the kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I used a whole bag of dried beans, soaked overnight, and 2qts (8cups) water. I used vegetable base for that amt of water and used a recipe for creole seasoning I found on this site (except that I did not add salt and pepper, just the white pepper) Salt and Pepper I just ground some in, the same amount I put in all my cooking. So no extra salt and the amount of creole was just right (total about 2tbsp of spices) I used a smithfield smoked sausage, but next time I might use 2 diff kinds like another reviewer. It's still very watery, took about 2 hours to cook. Must remember to give it a few blasts with the immersion blender to try to thicken. The liquid looked like dirty dishwater but a slotted spoon helped. I love it, cheap and easy and open to lots of experimentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I wish I had read the reviews before making this. Way too much liquid. As well, as I couldn't find Creole spice so I used Cajun spice and felt that it could have used more flavor. Otherwise it was a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This was really GOOD! Even the boyfriend said multiple times how yummy it was,which is unusual. Read the reviews thoroughly, used chicken stock instead of plain water, no salt just creole seasoning. It did only take 2 hours,not four but our beans weren't very old either. Will definitely make again, especially when the budget is tight. I think I spent $8 on all the ingredients,and will get at least 6 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LVNNSTYL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bluff, Utah, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Way too much salt! Other than that it's a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
praying mine turns out, didn't read the reviews till after I had already put Creole Seasoning, salt and pepper in pot with beans. Read the reviews and immediately rinsed beans and started over..lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This was way too hot for me. It was ridiculously hot actually. It was pretty and I just knew it was going to be marvelous but I took one bite and that was all she wrote. I used Tony "somebody's" Creole seasoning (full amount) and full amount on the pepper. I used smoked turkey sausage which was really good. I did not add the salt. I wish I'd known about the extreme heat that would come out of that Creole seasoning jar. It was unbelievable. I'm giving it 3 stars for attractiveness, ease of preparation, and the fact that my boyfriend suffered through 1 bowl and said, with sweat running down his face, "that was good. Hot but good."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
DO NOT add salt - creole seasoning is salty. Especially not 2 tbsp. And honestly, if you like really spicy food, 1 tbsp of black pepper is more than enough (everyone else, stick to a tsp). I make a vegetarian version - take out the sausage and add 1 teaspoon of hickory liquid smoke. I also find that after a full night's soak, I only really need about 2 quarts & 1 cup of water. I like to "mash" some of the beans to help it thicken (2 quick up and down motions with a potato masher in the pan about 30 minutes before you eat, then stir, turn the heat off and let it sit on the stove). So a fair number of modifications, but this recipe got me started on making red beans from scratch and the way I make it now, I LOVE it. I'd give it 5 stars if the salt and black pepper weren't so far off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States