Creole Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
It's very important to use Andouille sausage for authentic flavor. Also my dad started to bake the sausage first to keep the beans from becoming greasy. Most importantly, you have to make this dish on a Monday for tradition. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This recipe has potential! I started following it as-is until I read that it takes 2 TBS of pepper. I don't like the flavor of pepper, so I didn't add any. While it was cooking, however, I began to read the reviews and so sampled some of the liquid the beans and veggies were simmering in. HOLY SALT. I cut a few potatoes into quarters and threw those in there. Everything has finished cooking now, and thankfully, the potatoes absorbed a good portion of the saltiness. When I make this again, I'll not add any salt- it's truly unnecessary for flavoring the dish. As others mentioned, the three quarts of water was way too much after soaking the beans. I took half of it out while cooking, and everything was still rather soupy, so I mixed a slurry of cornstarch and water to thicken the broth/sauce. The flavor has a lot of kick and I'm eager to make this again. The changes I'll be making are: Half the amount of water (I'm not sure this won't still be too much but it's a starting point), no pepper, and no salt. With a few tweaks, I think this will be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This was amazing! I did not add salt or pepper. I boiled 2 chicken legs in chicken broth and creole seasoning. About 15 minutes into boiling, I added chicken andouille sausage. After about 10 minutes I took the sausage out and chop that up. I then took the chicken out and took the skin off and chop that up. My beans only soak for 3 hrs. I then cook them for 1 hr in 1.5 quarts of water. Next I added the vegetables, chicken and andouille sausage to the beans. I let all of that to cook for about 3 hrs or until the beans soften. Once it was done I added about 2 tablespoon of flour to thicken it up some It is delicious, but a little salty which is due to the creole seasoning. I'm hoping once I have rice with it, it will help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
My kosh! This is better than anything you get eating out. My husband is amazed at the great dishes I keep SETTing in front of him - all made from this site. This is one that he absolutely loved. made with spicy sausage added to the bang. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Good recipe. I agree with those suggesting cut back on the water, salt and pepper. Especially if you are using Andouille sausage, which is pretty much the way to go. Of course you can make it with any kind of sausage you want, but if you do you are no longer making Creole Red Beans and Rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I made this & it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystal741

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
We liked it. When making it in a pressure cooker, even 2 quarts was WAY too much water. I don't buy celery often, so I used extra, I wasn't going to use it for anything else. I don't think that made it any better, but I also don't think it didn't make it any worse. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Ellen Pedroza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Crestline, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I will cook this again, but will not cook it as long next time. We like our beans a lot firmer. I cut way back on the pepper and salt, which was a wise thing to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This is a very good recipe! I cut back on the salt and pepper and "fiddled" with it a little. I simmered three smoked ham hocks and used the water from those, then used the meat later. For a little extra zing I threw in a can of Rotel tomatoes and habaneros. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States