Creole Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
This was my first time making this recipe and I will make it a regular. I used fresh okra from the farmers market and the texture was just right. I ran out of cayenne pepper so I substituted some Don't Cajun seasoning for the cayenne and the salt. I also didn't have thyme so I subbed in some poultry seasoning. I added a bit of roasted garlic tomato sauce that I had on hand for some extra moisture. My stepson, who had never had okra before exclaimed "this stuff is amazing". That's enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutch Baby

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
This was exactly what I was looking for. It was my first time making okra even though I love eating it and it came out great. Surprisingly, there was no slime. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
This was very good… not at all slimy. I did need more liquid than the recipe called for, but that might be because I used a black iron skillet. I didn't have any tomato juice, so I used a little chicken broth as needed … it did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YYJValerie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This tasty and easy recipe is a great way to enjoy an abundance of garden peppers and okra. We had it with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
We get lots of okra from our garden all summer, and usually we just stream it plain or eat it raw. To shake things up a bit I decided to try this recipe, and everyone loved it! I did make a few changes to the recipe: left out the spices except for salt and pepper, (didn't feel like hunting through our cupboards!) and used fresh okra and tomatoes instead of frozen and canned. But it still turned out really good and everyone was going back for seconds and thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget Marshall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I tried this recipe. It was very good. I added a bit of sugar to add sweetness to the tomato base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I cook this type of okra dish all the time. I also add some chicken, sausage, shrimp and serve over rice with cornbread. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I roasted the okra first in the oven with creole seasoning ,then followed the recipe. Not slimy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Just made this minus the green peppers and I loved it! Served over brow rice. It wasn't slimy for me either, maybe because I fry the okra that is I add them to the onion/ garlic and fry for a few minutes before adding the tomatoes. Will be making regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
We really enjoyed this great way to fix okra. It went really well with the Cajun Pecan Catfish (made with cod instead) from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States