Creole Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
A very good Creole Okra recipe! I made two changes. I used Ro-Tel tomatoes and, because it is summer, I substituted some of my fresh lemon thyme for dried thyme flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Definitely my favorite way to have okra. Even my kids enjoyed this recipe, (I was afraid it might be too spicy). I mixed the leftovers in a gumbo soup I made with it and served them together which worked well too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
My husband likes Okra but my children never had it, I made this and they loved it for the first time eating Okra this was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
Absolutely delicious!! Easy to make too and great if you're on a diet. This dish will now be considered one of my favorite recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
My husband and I loved this recipe. I didn't have cayenne pepper so I used red pepper flakes instead. It was very good. I think next time I will add some shrimp. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Gracemont, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
This is as authentic as it comes and I should know because my Creole mamma made this all the time. She would also add a little fresh or frozen shrimp at the end for a slightly different taste. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I used fresh okra and it was great. Even the folks in my household who think they're non-okra eaters gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This was very good. I substituted the canned tomato with 1/2 cup tomato sauce and a 10oz can of tomato soup (basically what I had on hand) it was delicious. The combination made a great sauce that I'm going to try with shrimp or chicken one of these days. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daschie
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I love stewed okra & tomatoes, but have never prepared it. This recipe was exactly what I was expecting it to be. I did add a little spice, just because we like more spice. I can't wait to make this again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Okra normally is not one of my favorite vegetables, but this recipe tastes great, and I sure will try it again. Full flavor and just a bit spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States