Creole Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
For folks who think or have read that okra is too slimey to enjoy- try this recipe! I found this recipe delicious, a snap to make, and it's really healthy. I used a can of real Italian cherry tomatoes, fresh thyme, and added a bit more garlic, and it was wonderful. Okra-phobes, you won't regret trying this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
This is as authentic as it comes and I should know because my Creole mamma made this all the time. She would also add a little fresh or frozen shrimp at the end for a slightly different taste. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
A very good Creole Okra recipe! I made two changes. I used Ro-Tel tomatoes and, because it is summer, I substituted some of my fresh lemon thyme for dried thyme flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I used fresh okra and it was great. Even the folks in my household who think they're non-okra eaters gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by patticake
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Mmmmm! Really good! This was my first time making okra (and second time eating it...first experience wasn't too great) and it was really yummy! We like lots of garlic so I doubled it and ended up adding the entire can of tomatoes. Delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I thought this was a little spicy, and I do like hot dishes. It was a nice meal for one or two, but nothing I'd serve to company. I think I'll add some chicken and shrimp and rice to the leftovers to make something similar to gumbo so the leftovers will at least get eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
My husband and I loved this recipe. I didn't have cayenne pepper so I used red pepper flakes instead. It was very good. I think next time I will add some shrimp. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Gracemont, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Definitely my favorite way to have okra. Even my kids enjoyed this recipe, (I was afraid it might be too spicy). I mixed the leftovers in a gumbo soup I made with it and served them together which worked well too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I've been making a similar recipe since I started cooking. Its great for frozen okra and even better if you can find fresh. Also, you can add a couple of stalks of dices celery to it for additional texture. I also will add browned ground beef and serve over rice for the ultimate in comfort food that still has some spice. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daschie
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I love stewed okra & tomatoes, but have never prepared it. This recipe was exactly what I was expecting it to be. I did add a little spice, just because we like more spice. I can't wait to make this again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States