Creole Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Very good, even as leftovers. I had to add more liquid while simmering, but otherwise we cooked as directed! Making it again tonight as a main meal with rice and andouille sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperK, Beginner Baker!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Very good, I would love to try with fresh okra some time. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Excellent recipe. This will be a one I will make over and over again. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This was a family favorite when I was growing up and I still love it in my 60s! The only things I change is no bell pepper (can't eat them) and I add about 2 cups of cooked, elbow macaroni. The left overs are frozen to be added to soup or gumbo or I will add some cooked, shredded chicken or cooked and crumbled ground round for a one pot meal. It is a fast and delicious dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I've been making a similar recipe since I started cooking. Its great for frozen okra and even better if you can find fresh. Also, you can add a couple of stalks of dices celery to it for additional texture. I also will add browned ground beef and serve over rice for the ultimate in comfort food that still has some spice. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
My boyfriend loves okra so I buy the frozen kind everytime it is on sale. I pair this recipe with the Seared Catfish from this site. It goes perfect with it. This recipe also goes well with zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BALDOR1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Delicious! I used a whole onion and about 1 Tbsp. oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Absolutely Delicious! I added more garlic (6) and a 28oz can of Marzano tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I thought it had a slimy texture, and would prefer okra cooked into fritters. However, my husband loved it, and asked if I would make it again! (He tends not to pay attention to texture as much as I do.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe for okra. Followed it exactly, except I used 2 fresh medium tomatoes with a 3rd one squeezed for its juice. The okra, tomatoes, pepper and parsley all came from my garden. Nice heat from the cayenne pepper and tangy from using fresh tomatoes. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Granville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States