Creole Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I tried this recipe. It was very good. I added a bit of sugar to add sweetness to the tomato base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I cook this type of okra dish all the time. I also add some chicken, sausage, shrimp and serve over rice with cornbread. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I roasted the okra first in the oven with creole seasoning ,then followed the recipe. Not slimy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Just made this minus the green peppers and I loved it! Served over brow rice. It wasn't slimy for me either, maybe because I fry the okra that is I add them to the onion/ garlic and fry for a few minutes before adding the tomatoes. Will be making regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
We really enjoyed this great way to fix okra. It went really well with the Cajun Pecan Catfish (made with cod instead) from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Yes I try the Creola Oka recipe" and I add more to the stewed it up. I also put in some other things. Like Tony Chachere"s creole seasoning 1/4 Teaspoon and, a link of Eckrich Smokes Turkey Sausages, 1/2 cup of frozen sweet kernal corn. It"s the bomd!and I love It! Very Delicious.!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
It was okay but still slightly slimy. Maybe I'm just not an okra lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Wonderful Dish. We had an Okra fest this past Sunday. I cooked up this okra dish and it won 1st price!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I've been making a similar recipe for many years. Mine is probably a bit more fattening, as I use bacon drippings rather than oil. And as some other reviewers mention, I use Rotel tomatoes. I don't use thyme, and I always add a sprinkle of sugar to cut the acid of the tomatoes. This is how my Creole aunt taught me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Singer, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Used this as a side dish and really enjoyed it. I added a little more garlic and added cajun spice along with the other ingredients. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBigDipper

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States