Creole Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
A very good Creole Okra recipe! I made two changes. I used Ro-Tel tomatoes and, because it is summer, I substituted some of my fresh lemon thyme for dried thyme flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Definitely my favorite way to have okra. Even my kids enjoyed this recipe, (I was afraid it might be too spicy). I mixed the leftovers in a gumbo soup I made with it and served them together which worked well too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
My husband likes Okra but my children never had it, I made this and they loved it for the first time eating Okra this was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
This is as authentic as it comes and I should know because my Creole mamma made this all the time. She would also add a little fresh or frozen shrimp at the end for a slightly different taste. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This was very good. I substituted the canned tomato with 1/2 cup tomato sauce and a 10oz can of tomato soup (basically what I had on hand) it was delicious. The combination made a great sauce that I'm going to try with shrimp or chicken one of these days. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daschie
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I love stewed okra & tomatoes, but have never prepared it. This recipe was exactly what I was expecting it to be. I did add a little spice, just because we like more spice. I can't wait to make this again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
My husband and I loved this recipe. I didn't have cayenne pepper so I used red pepper flakes instead. It was very good. I think next time I will add some shrimp. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Gracemont, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I used fresh okra and it was great. Even the folks in my household who think they're non-okra eaters gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
Absolutely delicious!! Easy to make too and great if you're on a diet. This dish will now be considered one of my favorite recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Okra normally is not one of my favorite vegetables, but this recipe tastes great, and I sure will try it again. Full flavor and just a bit spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernice Dray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States