Creole Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Outstanding! Added turkey sausage, a can of Rotel, 1/2 cup of chicken broth and seasoned with Tony Chachere's rather than using cayenne. Served over rice; awesome dinner...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
awesome awesome awesome. I did some tweaking that I think made it a little better: used fresh okra and fresh tomatoes from a local organic farm...yummy! Since I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned, I just used tomato juice where it calls for the reserve of the canned tomatoes in the recipe. I didn't have any parsley handy, but used fresh basil instead. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Very good! I didn't use the cayenne pepper because I don't like it hot. It was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PESTEE40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This was really good! I LOVE okra and am always looking for good vegetarian dishes to use it in. I didn't have any parsley on hand so I omitted that and I also used Tony Chachere's cajun seasoning. I served it over white rice as a full meal. I think next time I will double the recipe so I have more leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
First time I've ever cooked okra. This was WONDERFUL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This was a great way to cook okra. I sometimes have issues with okra's slimy texture but not with this recipe!! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Just OK. Rather Blah. Need A Good Okra Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lina Hershberger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I made this using red pepper and a can of tomato's that also had oregano and basil in it. Wow it turned out so well... oh and added Tabasco of course! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Very yummy! I love spicy food, and this was definitely spicy and full of flavor. I didn't have enough juice from the diced tomatoes, so I added a little bit of spicy V8 at the end, and it went over well. My super picky "meat-or-bust" boyfriend even liked it. I think I'll put it over some white rice next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This is a good creoled okra recipe. I was born and raised in Louisiana and this is almost how we would make it. I make mine in a slow cooker to make it even easier- just chop and heat. (Short on time.) I add basil, thyme, and Tony Chachere's Cajun Seasoning (instead of salt and pepper-it gives it more of a kick.) I just add to taste. My great aunt used to make this a lot and she used a cast iron skillett. If you have one do use it. It adds to the flavor, plus it adds iron to the diet. I use one when I'm not in a hurry and it is well worth the effort. Plus the cast iron burns off the slimeness of the okra. My aunt never once had slimey okra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrankiAndPaul

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States