Creole Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Absolutely Delicious! I added more garlic (6) and a 28oz can of Marzano tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I thought it had a slimy texture, and would prefer okra cooked into fritters. However, my husband loved it, and asked if I would make it again! (He tends not to pay attention to texture as much as I do.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe for okra. Followed it exactly, except I used 2 fresh medium tomatoes with a 3rd one squeezed for its juice. The okra, tomatoes, pepper and parsley all came from my garden. Nice heat from the cayenne pepper and tangy from using fresh tomatoes. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Granville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Outstanding! Added turkey sausage, a can of Rotel, 1/2 cup of chicken broth and seasoned with Tony Chachere's rather than using cayenne. Served over rice; awesome dinner...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
awesome awesome awesome. I did some tweaking that I think made it a little better: used fresh okra and fresh tomatoes from a local organic farm...yummy! Since I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned, I just used tomato juice where it calls for the reserve of the canned tomatoes in the recipe. I didn't have any parsley handy, but used fresh basil instead. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Very good! I didn't use the cayenne pepper because I don't like it hot. It was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PESTEE40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This was really good! I LOVE okra and am always looking for good vegetarian dishes to use it in. I didn't have any parsley on hand so I omitted that and I also used Tony Chachere's cajun seasoning. I served it over white rice as a full meal. I think next time I will double the recipe so I have more leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
First time I've ever cooked okra. This was WONDERFUL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This was a great way to cook okra. I sometimes have issues with okra's slimy texture but not with this recipe!! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Just OK. Rather Blah. Need A Good Okra Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lina Hershberger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States