Creole Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I've been making a similar recipe for many years. Mine is probably a bit more fattening, as I use bacon drippings rather than oil. And as some other reviewers mention, I use Rotel tomatoes. I don't use thyme, and I always add a sprinkle of sugar to cut the acid of the tomatoes. This is how my Creole aunt taught me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Singer, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Used this as a side dish and really enjoyed it. I added a little more garlic and added cajun spice along with the other ingredients. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBigDipper

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Delicious just spicy enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
very good would make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Great stuff - no slime. Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Excellent. Easy to make and something different to do with okra. My husband enjoyed it and said that the okra wasn't slimy cooked this way. Used rotel instead of canned tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Very nice. You may want to add smoked fish to this recipe to give you a bit of the african type taste. Switch thyme with basil. Serve over steam rice. Okra is a staple in many african countries. The acidity in the tomatoes cuts down on the sliminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Live-to-eat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This is a wonderful dish. I fixed it for a Creole style dinner party and everyone raved over it. I will certainly fix this regularly. I doubled all the ingredients except the okra to serve nine adults and it was just enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I love it. My variation was to use Rotel with green chilis instead and not add the cayenne. My way was probably too hot for most but if you can stand the heat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Yum! I made this with fresh okra from our garden. Will likely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States