Creole Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This tasty and easy recipe is a great way to enjoy an abundance of garden peppers and okra. We had it with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
We get lots of okra from our garden all summer, and usually we just stream it plain or eat it raw. To shake things up a bit I decided to try this recipe, and everyone loved it! I did make a few changes to the recipe: left out the spices except for salt and pepper, (didn't feel like hunting through our cupboards!) and used fresh okra and tomatoes instead of frozen and canned. But it still turned out really good and everyone was going back for seconds and thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget Marshall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I tried this recipe. It was very good. I added a bit of sugar to add sweetness to the tomato base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I cook this type of okra dish all the time. I also add some chicken, sausage, shrimp and serve over rice with cornbread. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I roasted the okra first in the oven with creole seasoning ,then followed the recipe. Not slimy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Just made this minus the green peppers and I loved it! Served over brow rice. It wasn't slimy for me either, maybe because I fry the okra that is I add them to the onion/ garlic and fry for a few minutes before adding the tomatoes. Will be making regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
We really enjoyed this great way to fix okra. It went really well with the Cajun Pecan Catfish (made with cod instead) from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Yes I try the Creola Oka recipe" and I add more to the stewed it up. I also put in some other things. Like Tony Chachere"s creole seasoning 1/4 Teaspoon and, a link of Eckrich Smokes Turkey Sausages, 1/2 cup of frozen sweet kernal corn. It"s the bomd!and I love It! Very Delicious.!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
It was okay but still slightly slimy. Maybe I'm just not an okra lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Wonderful Dish. We had an Okra fest this past Sunday. I cooked up this okra dish and it won 1st price!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States