Creole Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I tried this recipe. It was very good. I added a bit of sugar to add sweetness to the tomato base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I cook this type of okra dish all the time. I also add some chicken, sausage, shrimp and serve over rice with cornbread. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I roasted the okra first in the oven with creole seasoning ,then followed the recipe. Not slimy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Just made this minus the green peppers and I loved it! Served over brow rice. It wasn't slimy for me either, maybe because I fry the okra that is I add them to the onion/ garlic and fry for a few minutes before adding the tomatoes. Will be making regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
We really enjoyed this great way to fix okra. It went really well with the Cajun Pecan Catfish (made with cod instead) from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Yes I try the Creola Oka recipe" and I add more to the stewed it up. I also put in some other things. Like Tony Chachere"s creole seasoning 1/4 Teaspoon and, a link of Eckrich Smokes Turkey Sausages, 1/2 cup of frozen sweet kernal corn. It"s the bomd!and I love It! Very Delicious.!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
It was okay but still slightly slimy. Maybe I'm just not an okra lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Wonderful Dish. We had an Okra fest this past Sunday. I cooked up this okra dish and it won 1st price!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I've been making a similar recipe for many years. Mine is probably a bit more fattening, as I use bacon drippings rather than oil. And as some other reviewers mention, I use Rotel tomatoes. I don't use thyme, and I always add a sprinkle of sugar to cut the acid of the tomatoes. This is how my Creole aunt taught me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Singer, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Used this as a side dish and really enjoyed it. I added a little more garlic and added cajun spice along with the other ingredients. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBigDipper

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States