Creole Mexican Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I was looking for a new way to cook catfish besides my usual frying with Cajun Seasoning and this was delicious! The mix of herbs and spices is very flavorful and we enjoyed a new catfish recipe, a fish we both enjoy. I did make slight modifications to cut down on 1) saturated fat - used olive oil in place of margarine, and 2) salt - used no-salt diced tomatoes and added 1 tablespoon canned diced green chilies. I also cut the cayenne pepper in half to fit our tastes. I was in a hurry so to speed up cooking I mixed all ingredients except the fish and olive oil in a saucepan and simmered them together while I pan fried the catfish, approx. four minutes a side. I did add about 1/2 teaspoon of Cajun Seasoning. Then I served the fish with the sauce on top. I think the flavors remained true to the recipe and I was able to have this ready to eat in 15 minutes. I also love that except for the fish all the ingredients are ones you would have in the pantry so no special shopping needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Love, love, LOVE this recipe! It turns boring catfish into a delicious meal! I used cut the amount of cayenne pepper, dill, and thyme in half, but kept the rest of the spices the same. It was perfect! Also, I didn't need all of the butter... next time I'd say only 3 tbsp. for 4 fillets. still, this recipe is a winner! It's great if you serve it with noodles or rice to balance out the spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Christy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This was so delicious and easy to make. Wife loved it. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
My husband is the catfish lover and the more savory or spicy I can make it is best. This was a good recipe and you can tune up or down the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
The kiddo and hubby really liked it. I used pace since I did not have the diced tomatoes and chili peppers. I sprinkled the seasoning on instead of dipping the fish in because I didn't want to dirty another dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squishypea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valdez, Alaska, USA
Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I loved this, and would have given it 5 starts, but I think I would not have liked it if I had used all the cayenne. I used a scant bit, but added some Old Bay seasoning in its place. As I did it, it was spicy and had heat, but wasn't overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Super easy and very tasty! I simply drizzled the fish with olicve oil then sprinkled the seasonings on top. I served it with rice and beans, and ended up having the leftovers in flour tortillas. Good stuff! Thanks, Nick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Terrific recipie. I did a lot ofimprovising for items I did not have but was truly amazed at how terrific it turned out. I'll tell you my changes. 1) didn't have dill so I used some juice from a bottle of salad olives. 2) ni thyme so I used some itallian sesoning 3) to big a can of diced tomatoes (I buy the big cans for when I make my spagehetti sauce) so I used cans of tomatoe sauce and added 2 teaspoons of salsa for chips for each 10 oz can used. 4) I opened a can of green chile peppers and added 2 teaspoons of to the tomate sauce mixture. 5) I then cut up some fresh vidallia onion and green peppers and added it to the t sauce mixture. 6) I added some fresh garden green beans that were steamed first then added to the mixture. 7) I added a dash of olive oil for flavor. 8) after following the fish directions I noticed that there really wasn't enough seasoning mixture to cover both sides so I sprinkled the fish with more garlic powder then onion powder, adobo seasoning. 9) trying to add my own signature I topped it off with some fresh grated cheese. 10) I cooked it to half the recipie time then added the the tomatoe mixture and continued to bake the second half -=- enjoy - I did
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brittney Tun
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I was really skeptical about this recipe, but I was very pleased with the end result. I more than doubled the spices plus added a few of my own as well as a few tsp of flour, but the end result was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittney Tun

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jackson, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Great recipe. I served garlic broccoli and brown rice with it. I have shared the recipe with other and will definitely serve it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States