Creole Mexican Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
I followed this recipe to the letter. Fantastic ... a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
This was a great recipe! My husband was really surprised. I cut down the red pepper to about 1/8 tsp and used the "milder" Ro-tel tomatoes. Tht was plenty of spice for us - any more and we would not have been able to taste the fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
This was excellent!! I would however, leave off the cayenne pepper next time. The can of tomatoes and green chilies would be plenty of peppers. My husband and I loved it and even though we both like spicy food agreed that it was a little too peppery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
This was so easy and flavorful. I don't really like the fishy flavor of catfish, so I tried it with orange roughy, but my favorite (by far) is the tilapia. This tastes like something from my favorite seafood restaurant. An easy yet elegant dish to impress your guests with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
Very good baked catfish recipe. As much as we like spicy food though, this one was a little too spicy for our taste. (Too spicy = cannot eat without watery eyes & sniffles.) I'll do one of two things next time to remedy this: use less cayenne pepper or use the mild Rotel tomatoes. Definitely serve this over steamed white rice & have a Corona or two to wash it down with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I love this recipe!!! It is the best catfish that I have made on my own. I really like spicy food so the heat didnt bother me. I have tried the exact recipe and a variation and they were both great!! The way I made the variation was instead of all the different spices I only used cajun spice mix and cayenne pepper, and instead of canned tomatoes and green chillis I used fresh ones. My husband liked the fresh veg one better.I would really recommend this recipe to everyone, especially if you're really not into fish, this is great way to start!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
We really liked it--very good and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
Yummy! Ok I put a lil "spin" on this. I noticed in the comments it says that this is a " dish with a cream sauce". Not sure if anybody else caught that or not. So what I did was baked the fish with seasonings as per directions. In a skillet added the tomatoes and green chilies. Cooked the juices down a bit. THEN I added some heavy cream and cooked til it got really thick. I also also added one pack of Splenda. After the fish was done I simply topped and served. YUMMY!! I imagine it would be good for chicken too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Dover Air Force Base, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
A great way to prepare catfish.Serve it with hot potato salad and corn niblets. Newfoundlanders usually coat it with flour, and add salt and pepper while frying(good that way too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Port Aux Basques, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Cape Ray, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Few changes: sea salt instead of regular salt, butter instead of margarine, and I put the canned tomatoes beneath the catfish. Instead of 40 minutes it cooked in 30 minutes and cooked off some of the liquid from the tomatoes. It tasted great, a little heavy on the spices so next time I'll reduce so we can actually taste the fish. By the way, if you don't like fishy fish, make sure you buy fresh fish that doesn't smell. If it does, then it's old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States