Creole Mexican Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
This was a great recipe! My husband was really surprised. I cut down the red pepper to about 1/8 tsp and used the "milder" Ro-tel tomatoes. Tht was plenty of spice for us - any more and we would not have been able to taste the fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
This was excellent!! I would however, leave off the cayenne pepper next time. The can of tomatoes and green chilies would be plenty of peppers. My husband and I loved it and even though we both like spicy food agreed that it was a little too peppery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
This dish turned out quite good, i served it over steamed rice, which was a nice absorbant for the spiciness of the fish. I used the indicated amount of spices per each medium size catfish filet, which made it quite spicy & flavorful indeed. Perhaps sprinkled on would make it a little milder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
Yummy! Ok I put a lil "spin" on this. I noticed in the comments it says that this is a " dish with a cream sauce". Not sure if anybody else caught that or not. So what I did was baked the fish with seasonings as per directions. In a skillet added the tomatoes and green chilies. Cooked the juices down a bit. THEN I added some heavy cream and cooked til it got really thick. I also also added one pack of Splenda. After the fish was done I simply topped and served. YUMMY!! I imagine it would be good for chicken too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Dover Air Force Base, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
This was excellent, although it took a lot longer to bake than the recipe said. I was out of cayenne pepper and was worried that this would be bland without it, but it wasn't. It had a lot of different flavors going on that mixed well together. It was easy to prepare, too. This is definitely something I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
This was so easy and flavorful. I don't really like the fishy flavor of catfish, so I tried it with orange roughy, but my favorite (by far) is the tilapia. This tastes like something from my favorite seafood restaurant. An easy yet elegant dish to impress your guests with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
Very good baked catfish recipe. As much as we like spicy food though, this one was a little too spicy for our taste. (Too spicy = cannot eat without watery eyes & sniffles.) I'll do one of two things next time to remedy this: use less cayenne pepper or use the mild Rotel tomatoes. Definitely serve this over steamed white rice & have a Corona or two to wash it down with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Love, love, LOVE this recipe! It turns boring catfish into a delicious meal! I used cut the amount of cayenne pepper, dill, and thyme in half, but kept the rest of the spices the same. It was perfect! Also, I didn't need all of the butter... next time I'd say only 3 tbsp. for 4 fillets. still, this recipe is a winner! It's great if you serve it with noodles or rice to balance out the spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Christy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
One of the best recipes for baked fish. If you like spicy food, you'll love this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
This turned out pretty well. The ingredients for coating the filets did not stretch far enough so I will use more of them next time. My family and I liked it and I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States