Creole Mexican Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
I'm sorry, neither my husband or myself enjoyed this dish at all. It was easy to prepare, but it didn't seem like there was enough seasoning to coat the fish. The directions say to put the fish in the seasoning dish; I had to literally take pinches of the seasoning and sprinkle it on the fish to make it last. And the fish ended up being way, way, way too spicy. My husband and I enjoy spicy food, and we had to scrape the tomatoes and the spices off the fish to make them edible. It was like fire in our mouths. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
The amount of ingredients was not enough to coat one piece of fish. We ended up using pre-made redfish blackening spice. The tomatoes on top were a nice. The cooking time was too long. I cooked mine for a total of 25 minutes. It was much easier using a pre-made blackening spice, instead of making this from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Few changes: sea salt instead of regular salt, butter instead of margarine, and I put the canned tomatoes beneath the catfish. Instead of 40 minutes it cooked in 30 minutes and cooked off some of the liquid from the tomatoes. It tasted great, a little heavy on the spices so next time I'll reduce so we can actually taste the fish. By the way, if you don't like fishy fish, make sure you buy fresh fish that doesn't smell. If it does, then it's old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
Easy and yummy, and my husband loved it. I was uncertain about the tomatoes, especially after I added them, but he loved the whole dish. I will probably try it again but leave the tomatoes off. I used only 1/4 tsp ceyenne pepper, poured the butter over the dish, and cooked it for less time... maybe 20-25 mins?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
I followed this recipe to the letter. Fantastic ... a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
A great way to prepare catfish.Serve it with hot potato salad and corn niblets. Newfoundlanders usually coat it with flour, and add salt and pepper while frying(good that way too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Port Aux Basques, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Cape Ray, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
Yummy! Ok I put a lil "spin" on this. I noticed in the comments it says that this is a " dish with a cream sauce". Not sure if anybody else caught that or not. So what I did was baked the fish with seasonings as per directions. In a skillet added the tomatoes and green chilies. Cooked the juices down a bit. THEN I added some heavy cream and cooked til it got really thick. I also also added one pack of Splenda. After the fish was done I simply topped and served. YUMMY!! I imagine it would be good for chicken too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Dover Air Force Base, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
We really liked it--very good and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I love this recipe!!! It is the best catfish that I have made on my own. I really like spicy food so the heat didnt bother me. I have tried the exact recipe and a variation and they were both great!! The way I made the variation was instead of all the different spices I only used cajun spice mix and cayenne pepper, and instead of canned tomatoes and green chillis I used fresh ones. My husband liked the fresh veg one better.I would really recommend this recipe to everyone, especially if you're really not into fish, this is great way to start!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
Easy and very good. I skipped the butter (sprayed with Pam instead), but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. My husband commented that it didn't taste "fishy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States