Creole Mexican Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I was looking for a new way to cook catfish besides my usual frying with Cajun Seasoning and this was delicious! The mix of herbs and spices is very flavorful and we enjoyed a new catfish recipe, a fish we both enjoy. I did make slight modifications to cut down on 1) saturated fat - used olive oil in place of margarine, and 2) salt - used no-salt diced tomatoes and added 1 tablespoon canned diced green chilies. I also cut the cayenne pepper in half to fit our tastes. I was in a hurry so to speed up cooking I mixed all ingredients except the fish and olive oil in a saucepan and simmered them together while I pan fried the catfish, approx. four minutes a side. I did add about 1/2 teaspoon of Cajun Seasoning. Then I served the fish with the sauce on top. I think the flavors remained true to the recipe and I was able to have this ready to eat in 15 minutes. I also love that except for the fish all the ingredients are ones you would have in the pantry so no special shopping needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Love, love, LOVE this recipe! It turns boring catfish into a delicious meal! I used cut the amount of cayenne pepper, dill, and thyme in half, but kept the rest of the spices the same. It was perfect! Also, I didn't need all of the butter... next time I'd say only 3 tbsp. for 4 fillets. still, this recipe is a winner! It's great if you serve it with noodles or rice to balance out the spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Christy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This was so delicious and easy to make. Wife loved it. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
My husband is the catfish lover and the more savory or spicy I can make it is best. This was a good recipe and you can tune up or down the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
The kiddo and hubby really liked it. I used pace since I did not have the diced tomatoes and chili peppers. I sprinkled the seasoning on instead of dipping the fish in because I didn't want to dirty another dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squishypea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valdez, Alaska, USA
Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I loved this, and would have given it 5 starts, but I think I would not have liked it if I had used all the cayenne. I used a scant bit, but added some Old Bay seasoning in its place. As I did it, it was spicy and had heat, but wasn't overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Super easy and very tasty! I simply drizzled the fish with olicve oil then sprinkled the seasonings on top. I served it with rice and beans, and ended up having the leftovers in flour tortillas. Good stuff! Thanks, Nick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Terrific recipie. I did a lot ofimprovising for items I did not have but was truly amazed at how terrific it turned out. I'll tell you my changes. 1) didn't have dill so I used some juice from a bottle of salad olives. 2) ni thyme so I used some itallian sesoning 3) to big a can of diced tomatoes (I buy the big cans for when I make my spagehetti sauce) so I used cans of tomatoe sauce and added 2 teaspoons of salsa for chips for each 10 oz can used. 4) I opened a can of green chile peppers and added 2 teaspoons of to the tomate sauce mixture. 5) I then cut up some fresh vidallia onion and green peppers and added it to the t sauce mixture. 6) I added some fresh garden green beans that were steamed first then added to the mixture. 7) I added a dash of olive oil for flavor. 8) after following the fish directions I noticed that there really wasn't enough seasoning mixture to cover both sides so I sprinkled the fish with more garlic powder then onion powder, adobo seasoning. 9) trying to add my own signature I topped it off with some fresh grated cheese. 10) I cooked it to half the recipie time then added the the tomatoe mixture and continued to bake the second half -=- enjoy - I did
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jonagold
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I was really skeptical about this recipe, but I was very pleased with the end result. I more than doubled the spices plus added a few of my own as well as a few tsp of flour, but the end result was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonagold

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jackson, Alabama, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Great recipe. I served garlic broccoli and brown rice with it. I have shared the recipe with other and will definitely serve it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States