Creole Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2002
This dish is wonderful. Great for company but you'd better make extra because there will be no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This was pretty dang good on a cold evening. I didn't use any celery, the sound of that didn't turn my crank, so I skipped it. I used Swiss cheese instead of Gruyere, because Gruyere is super expensive here. The other problem is, living in Washington, I can't find andouille that often, so I used kielbasa, instead. Great recipe and I'll use it again...thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Okay, liked it but...am I missing something? I could only account for 3T butter, but no big deal there. also, directions don't say what to do with the onion and celery. I just added it in the end and mixed all together before baking. But liked the flavor. different than regular ole mac and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
After reading so many reviews about the taste, I decided to change the cheese to Smoked Fontina--delicious! I would not use the bread crumbs next time. They did not add to the flavor and they were too crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
i used every dish in my kitchen, it was good, but not worth the $$$$ and time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
With a couple of changes, this turned out AMAZING. My only real problem was that it just wasn't cheesy enough - I added a lot more Gruyere and Cheddar, and also a handful of shredded Swiss. I omitted the celery (not a fan), and simply sauteed the onions along with the Andouille. This ended up being a fantastically rich and tasty meal. Thanks, Craig!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
Let a previous reviwer I would have liked to give this a higher rating. I concur the amount of time, preparation, steps and pans used were ridiculous. Forget the salt altogether and let the andouille provide the flavor. I will, however, keep working with this recipe. It has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
While I would have liked to give this a higher rating, I just can't. While the flavor was O.K., the amount of time, preparation, steps and pans used were ridiculous considering the outcome. I think I could have used Velvetta mac and cheese, added the andoille, celery seed and onions to reap the same results. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
The flavor was just so-so for all the work that went into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States