Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Made recipe exactly as listed. It was too much work for the results. Was oily and lacked flavor. Kept adding creole seasoning, but never seemed very savory. Probably wouldn't make again since I'm not sure what to change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This was alot of work, nd I thought it was just ok...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Having a roux for Creole gumbo is okay, but I would use okra and tomatoes myself. Why put Cajun seasoning in a Creole gumbo? And the chicken, well that's okay, I guess, but I would just have shrimp and sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I guess I'll never understand why someone would put shrimp in a chicken/sausage gumbo or chicken &/or sausage in a seafood gumbo. Either make a seafood (shrimp, crab, oysters) gumbo or make a chicken n sausage(andoulie) gumbo. And if you're making chicken gumbo make the roux dark, very dark. Not so much for seafood gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Creole Gumbo is difficult to prepare, the sauce must be cooked for several hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Thuesen
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
We loved it; I used the tip below to brown the roux about 8 min then added onion, bell pepper & garlic to the roux, cooked them until soft. I used boneless skinnless breasts so I threw them in later ( I hate stringy overcooked chicken); the shrimp was pre-cooked so I just threw them in to heat for about 5 minutes before done... The bones usually give flavor to the liquid so I made up for it by using some chicken stock & wine... I also added a can of rotel, small can of sauce because we like tomatos. For the Cajun seasonings I used 2 tsp. Old Bay and 1/4 tsp. cayenne, 1/2 tsp. ea. oregano and basil. I was told to not serve until the next day so flavor can set in. Served with a scoop of rice, file powder and hot sauce on the side... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
never made it before. This was a good beginner recipe for gumbo. I would probably kick up the spices more, and it probably does need the roux to be cooked a little darker. I hadn't done it before, and was used to my roux being for gravy which I like lighter. I think cooking the roux longer to darken it up would really add flavor to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Cut it down for two and was excellent. Am wondering about adding celery...... Could someone advise me about that......... Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This recipe was okay...wish I could say more. I wanted to give it a shot, as a switch from the way we normally cook gumbo... But, sorry but still believe the roux is key to a perfect gumbo in our home. For those that have never made a roux or gumbo, please try this method: use equal parts canola or vegetable oil and flour (we use 3/4 cup)... on medium low heat, constantly stir oil and flour in cast iron pot or magnalite pot...NEVER leave it, and NEVER try to rush it... Stir until the roux becomes a color of a penny or mahogany color, and then add your onions (2 chopped yellow) and green pepper, with a teaspoon minced garlic. Also, we don't like the consistancy of chopped celery, so we use whole stalks for flavor. Also, boil your chicken night before, and debone to have ready if you like. We use a whole cut up chicken or whole chicken, drain it and use tbe broth for gumbo. When making the gumbo Do NOT cook the COOKED chicken that long in your gumbo!... as others have said, nor the shrimp! After sauteing your veggies, and adding your broth, then chicken... allow to cook for about 30 minutes on medium low heat...add shrimp (and fresh parsley :) and allow to cook another 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Champagne Benoit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States