Creole Crab and Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
If I had made the recipe as is, I would have given it 3 stars at the most, because with that amount of jalapeno in it, I think it would have been inedible. Just to clarify, I like it hot, I'm no wimp. I add extra hot sauce to almost everything and ask for extra spicy at Thai restaurants. But this would be over the top hot and wouldn't allow for enjoying the flavor of that very expensive crabmeat. Luckily I watched Chef John's video so I made some changes based on what he mentioned. For the liquid, I used 8oz. clam juice and 1 1/2 cup water. I chopped a half cup of green bell pepper then one large jalapeno (2 Tbsp). Half&Half was in the fridge so I used that. With those changes, it was outstanding with a rich broth, the flavor of the crab came shining through and it was still plenty Creole-spicy! This was a wonderful way to use up the leftover crabs...after picking, I had close to a pound and you bet, I put it all in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Great soup, extremely flavorful and pretty easy to make! I did think it a bit too spicy though. I knew using all jalapenos would be more heat than I could handle so I used the milder Anaheim pepper instead. It was still a little hotter than I would have preferred. It wasn't the heat itself that was the problem, but that the level of heat overpowered the flavor of the crab. I added some milk to tone it down a bit which helped, but I think if I made it again I'd replace half of the chili pepper with plain bell peppers. Pretty yummy soup though! Hearty and full flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I agree with review number 3. The chowder is WAY too spicy and takes away the taste of the crab. I only used 3/4 of a jalapeno pepper and the rest green bell pepper and it was still too spicy to taste the $12 worth of crab meat that I put into the recipe. I will probably use this recipe again with several alterations of my own. The basics of the recipe is good, but unless you absolutely love a lot of spice, don't use the hot peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This is amazing!! Just like I had in a New Orleans restaurant I had last week!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Liberty, New York, USA
Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This was really good. I used a red pepper in place of the jalapeno b/c we don't like things too spicy and kids were eating it. I used one can of chicken broth and the rest water for flavor per the video and only a pinch of the cayenne for our taste. Since it is corn season I used fresh corn (7 ears) and it was great, although I might try 8 ears next time. I will try frozen in the winter months. I could not find fresh crab in my town so I had to use a high quality can (Miller Select Special White) 6.5 oz and it was plenty of crab for the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Don't listen to those who used green pepper instead of jalapeno. This recipe is delicious with them. As a matter of fact, it would be inedibly bland without them. I served it with jalapeno cheese cornbread for an extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Chef John- Another great recipe. I'm glad that I watched your video before making this - although the directions are ok, watching those extra observations of yours help me big time in the timing of the steps. I swapped out the celery for Red Bell Peppers, split the jalapeno amount between a jalapeno and a serrono pepper, up the cayenne to three pinches and went 1/3 cup of heavy cream, used all chicken stock for the liquid, added 8 oz of lump crab. Served it with Sweet Cornbread. Family went nuts.....love it big time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This was delicious! I had to omit the jalapeño pepper since I can't handle the spice, but the flavor was fabulous anyway. I added shrimp and the whole pot was gone in a flash. I served it with fresh cornbread. I will make this again for sure. Next time I'm going to try it with fish. Thanks for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I was hoping for a little bolder flavor; especially with the jalapeños and substitution of seafood stock for 50% of the water. If I make it again, I'll use roasted poblano peppers and jalapeños. Simple enough to make, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Cutting back to half on the jalapeno lets the other succulent flavours come through nicely. Fresh crab was the only way to go, especially if you compare pricing to canned crab..you're almost paying the same either way. Made this twice now...once with half the jalapenos, once with what the recipe says. Less is definately better..and still on the spicy side. Also, when fresh corn is in season here I'm going to use grilled corn to make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AL J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sidney, British Columbia, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States