Creole Crab and Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Great soup, extremely flavorful and pretty easy to make! I did think it a bit too spicy though. I knew using all jalapenos would be more heat than I could handle so I used the milder Anaheim pepper instead. It was still a little hotter than I would have preferred. It wasn't the heat itself that was the problem, but that the level of heat overpowered the flavor of the crab. I added some milk to tone it down a bit which helped, but I think if I made it again I'd replace half of the chili pepper with plain bell peppers. Pretty yummy soup though! Hearty and full flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This is amazing!! Just like I had in a New Orleans restaurant I had last week!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Liberty, New York, USA
Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
We thought this was way way to hot! Heating up that much Jalapeno peppers just wipes out all taste! Ma. Everyone herer thinks its too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I agree with review number 3. The chowder is WAY too spicy and takes away the taste of the crab. I only used 3/4 of a jalapeno pepper and the rest green bell pepper and it was still too spicy to taste the $12 worth of crab meat that I put into the recipe. I will probably use this recipe again with several alterations of my own. The basics of the recipe is good, but unless you absolutely love a lot of spice, don't use the hot peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
If I had made the recipe as is, I would have given it 3 stars at the most, because with that amount of jalapeno in it, I think it would have been inedible. Just to clarify, I like it hot, I'm no wimp. I add extra hot sauce to almost everything and ask for extra spicy at Thai restaurants. But this would be over the top hot and wouldn't allow for enjoying the flavor of that very expensive crabmeat. Luckily I watched Chef John's video so I made some changes based on what he mentioned. For the liquid, I used 8oz. clam juice and 1 1/2 cup water. I chopped a half cup of green bell pepper then one large jalapeno (2 Tbsp). Half&Half was in the fridge so I used that. With those changes, it was outstanding with a rich broth, the flavor of the crab came shining through and it was still plenty Creole-spicy! This was a wonderful way to use up the leftover crabs...after picking, I had close to a pound and you bet, I put it all in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Way too hot for us! Only used 1 jalapeno pepper and the rest sweet pepper, still extremely hot for our family, will let this one go. 1st recipe of chef Johns that we didn't like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
It was delicious, just not 5 stars. After watching the video, I only used half a jalapeño pepper and the rest was bell pepper. I used fresh corn , and it made a difference. I found the flavor to be a little bland, but with a kick. I then added a little extra salt, black pepper, and a dusting of celery salt. Served it with bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I normally make the recipes as listed the first time, but thought this would be a good chance to sub in seafood base for the water. It worked out well for a stronger flavor. I also added some leftover boiled crawfish tails from the freezer to give it a little more protein ;) As far as the heat is concerned, I wonder if those giving negative reviews de-veined the jalapenos correctly. I used three and it was hot, but not overwhelming. I was doubtful about jalapenos in a "creole" dish, but it tastes fine. All in all, it was easy to make and worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Chef John- Another great recipe. I'm glad that I watched your video before making this - although the directions are ok, watching those extra observations of yours help me big time in the timing of the steps. I swapped out the celery for Red Bell Peppers, split the jalapeno amount between a jalapeno and a serrono pepper, up the cayenne to three pinches and went 1/3 cup of heavy cream, used all chicken stock for the liquid, added 8 oz of lump crab. Served it with Sweet Cornbread. Family went nuts.....love it big time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I made this without the jalpenos. I had some friends over and everyone said it was good. I used bell peppers instead. If it really is as spicy as other reveiewers say i look forward to making it to its full potential one day. I like hot food. I also left out the cayenne pepper so it was just crab and corn chowder I suppose, no creole:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States