Creole Chitterlings (Chitlins) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I must add that cleaning chitterlings is a little more involved than removing specks, etc. There is an inner lining that is translucent and must be removed prior to cooking, resulting in an end product has never been touched by the waste material that passed through the intestines. Otherwise you cannot call them clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
In regards to removing the lining, the submitter did not include that because you are starting with frozen "cleaned" chitterlings. (See recipe above). The main lining (the most rubbery fatty layer) has already been removed. There are a few good brands. But even though they have been "cleaned" I still go through every inch and remove any specks. I also double check the lining just to make sure. A key step is to boil them after cleaning (I would boil at least 5 minutes) and then drain and start with fresh water. This will keep you from having to continuously skim the water (spooning and dumping any foamy grayish looking stuff that rises to the top of the boiling water), though there may still be a little skimming to do. Incidentally there is still another layer of lining that can be further separated leaving the chitterlings almost paper thin. However I find that the final result is while tender, much too thin. You want them tender, but you want a feel like you are eating something. One more thing. Contamination/Illness can happen. Keep kids/babies out of the kitchen and wash hands/nails, counters, etc. thoroughly after handling (use bleach). The USDA even suggest boiling for 5 minutes before cleaning, to kill bacteria (will not change flavor). It also may help the cleaning go easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This is the way we've been cooking chitlins for years up North. I didn't know we had a little Creole running through us! This is a very tasty recipe. I'll add, keep rinsing the chits until the water is as clear as you can get it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Chitlins are the best!! thanks for this recipe. In my family we only eat chitlins during the holidays and this is a great way to cook them with some added spice. Serve over some white rice and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Deevah Socialite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snow Hill, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I don't eat chitlins, but my daughter made these one year and everyone in the neighborhood raved about them. Said they were the best they ever had. And I guess cooking them this way reduced the smell in the house. Wich was a plus for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Droopy Pollard

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Basically, I like my chitlins plain...leave out the vinegar and extra spices...regular seasoning as long as they are clean is fine with me...touch not my chitlins and do my pork no harm--the Word.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
OMG! These were the best chitlins ever! This was my first time attempting them for our traditional New Years dinner. Since I come from a long line of excellant soul food cooks and want to pass along the tradition to my daughter, I wanted to put my best foot forward. I only cooked 10lbs. of chitlins, which is 1/2 of the recipe, but did not use bell pepper or bay leaf, but the chitlin turned out great. However, I cooked them for 7-8 hours -- I like them very tender -- and did not eat them until the next day, which I think played a big part in developing the flavor. This recipe is simple and will be added to my recipe collection for the upcoming New Years I am blessed to see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trecie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
If you have not tried this recipe, then what are you waiting for? Easy to follow...deelishus. This recipe is good, but my favorite is Down Home Chitterlings with a few revisions. See my review on Down Home Chitterlings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AvocadoLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lovejoy, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I'm cooking this recipe now and OMG!!! the aroma alone has friends and family standing near the stove fanning the steam towards their face. If daddy were alive I know he would wonder how did I get rid of the odor chitterlings are famous for, and second where did I get the recipe. This is gourmet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Well, I can't imagine being hungry enough to eat pig intestines but if I was gonna do it, I guess this would be the way. Plus chittlins must be reeeeeal cheap liaaak!!! Nell
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wrexham, Denbighshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Hope, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States