Creole Chitterlings (Chitlins) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I tried and even with frozen chitterlings I had to remove the lining. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqui

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lebanon, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bristol, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
THANKS FOR SHARING YOUR WONDERFUL RECIPE,THIS WILL BE MY SECOND YEAR USING IT. FABULOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Nice recipe only I boiled for two changes of water and then seasoned as I don't discard the trinity. I add a potato diced when just about done personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This recipe is the best one out there. Made my husband very happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I agree that simply removing a little fat with with specks does not equal clean chitlins....inner membrane must be removed...which is why they are considered a delicacy...cleaning them is time consuming .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I have tried the recipe and it was very good I have to make some more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This will be the 2nd time making chitterlings with the potatoe,and it actually cuts down on the smell,and doing a second or maybe third boil helps,adding the onion and bell pepper last prevents them from becoming too soft,and chili flakes make a huge difference...Thanks going to make a batch for Christmas...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen Williams Lewis
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This is my 2nd time in life making these. Followed the recipe, didnt have a bay leaf. Added 1 red pepper. I must say that the prep time is definitely over 20 mins. More like an hour. I only did 5lbs. Went grocery shopping yesterday, saw the chitterlings in the freezer section and decided to give it a try. Initially I was going to give them to my mother to cook, but after finding this recipe, I decided to try it myself. Now if I had to clean these back in the day when they weren't pre-cleaned??? We would NEVER have these. Its alot of work! (Kudo's to mom) Anyways,thanks for the recipe. It was simple and straight to the point. The hard work paid off. Everyone enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I'm cooking this recipe now and OMG!!! the aroma alone has friends and family standing near the stove fanning the steam towards their face. If daddy were alive I know he would wonder how did I get rid of the odor chitterlings are famous for, and second where did I get the recipe. This is gourmet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I learned to clean chittlins from my grandmother she always chose the brand in the large red bucket and it took hours to clean them now that I prepare them in my own household I prefer to use Uncle Lou's brand super cleaned frozen chitterlings and this makes your preference of cleaning easier also I would like to add that there is less of a smell and more flavor when you add a touch of Allspice seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Cajun Spiced Pork Chops

These tasty chops make an easy weeknight dinner with spices you have on hand.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States