Creole Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
I changed this recipe some. I added some onion and celery and used more tomato sauce than called for (because it was the only size can I found). I used more hot sauce than called for and added some cayenne pepper and garlic. I took the sausage out of the casing and cooked it up with some red pepper and added it for the last 30 minutes or so (after shredding the chicken). I tried adding the rice into the creole mixture, but both my husband and I agree, we should have kept the rice separate. I think it soaks up too much of the sauce. It seems a bit too dry when you reheat. It would be better if kept separate until put on your plate to eat. Good base recipe and pretty easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This one is a WINNER!!!!! I seasoned the chicken with cajun seasoning and added chopped jalepeno's (the kind in a jar), omitted the ham and took about a half of a pound of spicy italian sausage out of its casing and put it in with the chicken at the start. It was super HOT and flavorful! The dish holds well on low for a long time - the second time I made it it was in the crock for 10 hours before we ate and I couldn't tell the difference. I do take the skin off of the thighs before cooking, and the meat is so tender it just falls off the bone. Delicious! Thanks for a great recipe, Nancy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Very easy and simple to modify to your own taste. I added an extra can of diced tomatoes and a heaping teaspoon of chopped garlic. I HIGHLY suggest using the skinless thigh filets that you can find in the store -no bones, no skin, not so fatty and it isn't as dry as breasts. Next time I may add some okra or celery and more hot sauce too. I also followed the advice of serving it over rice rather than combining it in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
GREAT recipe for those with busy schedules. I used chix breasts instead of thighs and place them at the bottom of the crock pot and then lightly seasoned with creole seasoning. I then put the ham on top and in a bowl, mixed the tomatoes/peppers/paste/onions/hot sauce and poured overall. Although I was expecting a bit more kick, it didn't have any but my boyfriend prefers a more mild "creole" anyways. Everyone devored. Keeping this great recipe for busy days to come...since it's so simple - that gets a five star rating from me all by itself. Thanks Nancy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
This was wonderful. I cooked the chicken about 4 hours and took the meat off the bone into large chunks. I added some red pepper and cajun seasoning to this at the beginning to give it some added spiciness. Next time, I may use diced tomatoes with green chilis in place of the regular diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
This turned out very well, but I made several changes based on other reviews. No ham... used 1 lb. bulk Italian sausage (hot) and 1 lb. shrimp, and two pounds of chicken breast. Also, put in a few jalepenos from a can and lots of spices, skipped the green peppers. Served the rice on the side. I doubled the recipe quantities and served 10 easily. This was a hit for the whole group!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
I took the advice of the other Reviewers and added extra spicyness to the recipe by using extra Hot Sauce and Cayenne Pepper. I had to cook mine on low for 10 hours and I just sauteed the Polish Sausage with some garlic and added it when I was ready to serve the dish. My Boyfriend and I liked the recipe alot and will make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScullyKel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
Very quick and easy to make. Next time, I will use more seasonings, perhaps, crushed red pepper and cajun seasoning to spice it up more. Not very hot. Deleted the Ham, and used boneless, skinless chicken thighs and lite Turkey Sausage to make it more Weight Watcher friendly. Approximately 5 points for a serving of one cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2001
Absolutely fabulous! We added green chiles and used chicken breast, low fat ham and low fat smoked sausage to lower fat and calories. We will be making this regularly in our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berea, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
Wonderful recipe! I added a can of Rotel (HOT)to it for extra spice and used boneless skinless chicken and it turned out GREAT! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States