Creole Black-Eyed Peas and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
Served this great recipe at a Super Bowl party to rave reviews. I added 1 can of Trappy's Blackeyed Peas with Jalapeno's to "heat" it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
We love this recipe and make it all the time. So easy!! Reminds me of "dirty rice". This recipe is one of our regulars. Thanks for an easy delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
Excellent! I love all dishes when you don't have to precook the rice or pasta. Not only easy, but yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sola
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
(this is my own recipe, just noticed some omissions in the final published version)... You can use 1/2 lb. of soaked dried black eyed peas if you want. This is more of a main dish than a side dish, but I didn't pick the catagory it ended up being listed in. This is also good with salsa on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
This recipe is a definite keeper. If you can't find "Creole Seasoning", here is the list of ingredients you will need:2 tablespoons onion powder 2 tablespoons garlic powder 2 tablespoons dried oregano leaves 2 tablespoons dried sweet basil 1 tablespoon dried thyme leaves 1 tablespoon black pepper 1 tablespoon white pepper 1 tablespoon cayenne pepper 5 tablespoons sweet paprika Combine in food processor and pulse until well-blended, or mix thoroughly in a large bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
This reminded me of dirty rice, and the black-eyed peas were a great enhancement - yum. I did make a few modifications though. I used ground sausage instead of ground beef, and I used 1/2 c. of chopped onions and 1/2 c. of chopped green pepper. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This was fantastic! I didn't have a green pepper, so I used a can of Ro*Tel tomatoes and chiles and the result was great. I might try adding a bit more seasoning next time, but all in all, this is a keeper! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Always looking for ways to get my 2 year old to eat veggies and this one was a hit! We like a lot of flavor, so I added an extra tsp of creole seasoning and doubled the garlic powder, used the canned black-eyed peas that are seasoned with bacon and added two crumbled up slices of bacon left from breakfast. My daughter declared it "DEE-lisus!" so what more could I ask for?? LOL! Will cut the ingredients in half next time, because this made a TON of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I've been making this for years. Try adding some Eckridge sausage to it cut into bit size pieces. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I made this to up hold the New Years Black Eye Pea tradition. What a geat dish!! I did double the creole and added chilli pepper, I liked the kick. I also used ground turkey instead of the beef, and chopped garlic in place of garlic powder. It made a lot of food, and everyone was pleasantly surprised that Black Eye Peas can actually taste good! Thanks for the recipe, can't wait to have leftovers today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States