Creole Black-Eyed Peas and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This was fantastic! I didn't have a green pepper, so I used a can of Ro*Tel tomatoes and chiles and the result was great. I might try adding a bit more seasoning next time, but all in all, this is a keeper! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
We love this recipe and make it all the time. So easy!! Reminds me of "dirty rice". This recipe is one of our regulars. Thanks for an easy delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
This dish was different and delicious. I used Bush's Black-eyed Peas and instant rice to save time. It was great. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
Excellent! I love all dishes when you don't have to precook the rice or pasta. Not only easy, but yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
This was pretty good. It definitely needs more of the creole seasoning, otherwise it is a little bland. Very onion-y and could use more meat to compensate for the amount of rice and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
This reminded me of dirty rice, and the black-eyed peas were a great enhancement - yum. I did make a few modifications though. I used ground sausage instead of ground beef, and I used 1/2 c. of chopped onions and 1/2 c. of chopped green pepper. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
Overall pretty good but way too much pepper. Will cut in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
This one was easy and good. But it needed alot more spice than 1 T Creole Seasoning. I used ground turkey and about 3 Tablespoons of Creole Seasoning. Added more fresh ground pepper. Will make great leftovers to take to work for lunch and heat up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
Served this great recipe at a Super Bowl party to rave reviews. I added 1 can of Trappy's Blackeyed Peas with Jalapeno's to "heat" it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
This recipe is a definite keeper. If you can't find "Creole Seasoning", here is the list of ingredients you will need:2 tablespoons onion powder 2 tablespoons garlic powder 2 tablespoons dried oregano leaves 2 tablespoons dried sweet basil 1 tablespoon dried thyme leaves 1 tablespoon black pepper 1 tablespoon white pepper 1 tablespoon cayenne pepper 5 tablespoons sweet paprika Combine in food processor and pulse until well-blended, or mix thoroughly in a large bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States